GTA 4 on Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Reach9, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. Reach9 macrumors 68020

    Reach9

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    In America
    #1
    I want to play GTA 4 on my Mac, so i'm thinking of making a bootcamp partition (my VMware fusion won't be able to run it). But i don't know how much of my specs to partition?
    I have a Windows XP CD though, and i'm only going to be using it for games.
    Help?
     
  2. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    make a 50gb partition. GTA4 itself is like 15gb while windows would be 10~
     
  3. Reach9 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Reach9

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    In America
    #3
    Thanks for your feedback, I'm also wondering how much RAM i should give to the partition?
    Do you recommend playing GTA 4 on the Mac?

    Btw, i have a mid 2010 13" MacBook Pro C2D with 4GB of RAM and the 320M graphics card.
     
  4. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    You dont *give RAM to a windows partition when you boot up, it will use what you have in the MBP. And no i do not recommend playing GTA IV on a mac. It requires a very fast machine as it is a poorly coded xbox port. You would be playing at low settings.
     
  5. Reach9 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Reach9

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    In America
    #5
    oh gotcha. Stupid question sorry, i just remember giving RAM to VM Fusion, so that's why i presumed that.

    I see, do you recommend any similar games for the Mac then?
     
  6. PlipPlop macrumors 6502a

    PlipPlop

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #6
    GTA 4 is a terrible port, even on a pc like mine it slows down a lot. I wouldnt bother trying it tbh.
     

Share This Page