GTA IV on Crossover

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by macosxisdabest, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. macosxisdabest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #1
    Is GTA IV compatible on Crossover games? The game is for Windows, but I want to run it on Mac OS X Leopard.
     
  2. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #2
    I'm not sure if it will work under CrossOver. But just for the record GTA IV is an extreme resource hog. My PC with 2.66 C2D/5GB DDR2/9800 GTX had trouble running it. You better have an extremely powerful Mac to run it.
     
  3. macosxisdabest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #3
    I have iMac OS X v10.5 "Leopard" 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo.

    The game was successfully installed, but the release date check can't be checked online (even though my internet is fine). It's stuck at 30% and after a while, it says it cannot perform release date check :( .
     
  4. manmeet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    India
  5. tabasco70 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    youre going to have to run it under bootcamp, or at least get a ciderized version.
    and make sure you have a machine with specs better than the listed requirements.
    crossovers only useful for apps that arent graphically intensive.
    and as aaron said, gtaiv is a resource hog and i doubt a virtual envirnment (crossover) can provide you with smooth gameplay
     
  6. macosxisdabest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #6
    There is no ciderized version of GTA IV (at least not that I know of). I also tried Windows XP on Parallels, but it does not meet several requirements (free disc space and video card, mainly) and I cannot launch Rockstar Games Social Club (problem with dotnetfx3).
     
  7. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #7
    My secondhand understanding of the PC GTA IV port is that it's not so much a general resource hog as a poor port of a console game that heavily relies on having 3 cores (since that's what the consoles are using). As a result, it runs very badly on anything less than a quad-core PC -- I don't think it's that your CPU or GPU is too slow, you just don't have enough cores.

    Of course, this won't help the 90% of us Mac users without Mac Pros.
     
  8. macosxisdabest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #8
    Where can I get those cores? Has anyone ever successfully installed their GTA IV game on Parallels Windows XP?
     
  9. LouisBlack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Balham, London
    #9
    Urm... let's just say that you will not be able to run this game... especially using Parallels.

    You might be able to get it running on Windows using Bootcamp at VERY low graphics settings... but that will depend on your graphics card as we don't really know which iMac you have.
     
  10. andrew upstairs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Downtown Los Angeles
    #10
    Easy! You buy a Mac Pro.
     
  11. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    This might be something to use Bootcamp for...
     
  12. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #12
    Not a hope in hell. Parallels virtualizes a graphics card in software, many older games play horribly slowly on it let alone a modern one like GTA IV. If you already have a copy of XP then set it up under Bootcamp and try it that way.
     
  13. winninganthem macrumors 6502a

    winninganthem

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #13
    Psh, the game lags even on normal Windows systems, don't even think about emulating it lol.
     
  14. macosxisdabest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #14
    I will try it, anyway. I have Intel Mac OS X v10.5 Leopard. I will write about how it went later :). Boot camp - I can only buy it, not download it, and that sucks.
     
  15. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #15
    ^^what? Bootcamp comes with Leopard (Bootcamp assistant is in the Utilities folder). If you already have windows then just install it that way, don't waste your time trying something that absolutely will not work.
     
  16. macosxisdabest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #16
    Mine says "Boot Camp Assistant Beta has expired".
     
  17. dolphindolphin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    for the "dotnetfx3" error, just download microsoft .net framewrok version 3.5. But that is the least of your problems.
     
  18. macosxisdabest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #18
    Yeah, I fixed it :). Now the main problem is dd3d50 error, which appears few minutes after I launch the game.
     
  19. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #19
    dd3D50 error means that GTA can't find a DirectX 9 compatible video card due to you running a virtualized 3D card rather then a real one. I'm also pretty sure Rockstar are running a DRM system on GTA 4 that can tell if it's running on a virtual machine and refuse to boot even if you could get around the other problems, even Rockstar have stated it won't run on Parallels.
    Bootcamp shouldn't have expired, the one bundled with Leopard is a full version so maybe it's time for an OS X reinstall.
     
  20. macosxisdabest thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #20
    Darn! How do I fix it? I don't have a real one.
     
  21. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #21
    You have a real one in your Mac but Parallels and VMWare fusion can't access it, hence they vitualize a 3D card using the CPU, the only way to get Windows to fully utalize your 3D card is with Bootcamp.
    Oh and Crossover but as already said, they aren't compatible.
     
  22. LouisBlack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Balham, London
    #22
    As was mentioned Boot Camp is installed in 10.5 Leopard. If you are running the beta then you must be using Tiger... Unless something very weird has happened.

    Just buy an XBox 360 for £129 and forget about gaming on a Mac... It's more trouble than it's worth.
     
  23. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #23
    Not exactly true -- Parallels and VMware both offer support for limited 3D acceleration, albeit not up to what you'd get in Bootcamp. Still, it's enough to play some fairly recent 3D games like Half-Life 2.
     
  24. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #24
    ^^But they're not actually using the 3D card, they are simply virtualizing a Dx9 compatible video adapter hence the generally poor performance. AFAIK OS X won't let a virtualized OS have any direct access to the GPU.
     
  25. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #25
    They certainly are using the 3D card -- maybe not "directly", but somewhere along the line the GPU is definitely used. You're not going to be able to play a 3D game like Half-Life 2 on a CPU alone.
     

Share This Page