GTA IV on MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Steve.P.JobsFan, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. Steve.P.JobsFan macrumors 6502a

    Steve.P.JobsFan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #1
    This sounds crazy, I know.

    I'm replacing my 2007 20" 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo iMac, with a MacBook Pro.

    Probably refurb, but maybe new if the new MBP's are the same price.

    If I have the money (I'm putting it on a Barclaycard for financing), I want to get the 1GB card.

    I want to be able to play Portal, Portal 2, Team Fortress 2, GTA San Andreas, and the resource-hog known as GTA IV. I know the MBP is NOT meant to play GTA IV, but can I? Of course, I'd be installing Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit.
     
  2. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
  3. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    I have never faced any problems playing Portal, Portal 2, Vice City, COD 4, GTA 3 on my config found in my signature.
     
  4. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #4
    If you want to play GTA 4, get the GPU with 1gb VRAM. For the rest of the games you mentioned, 256 mb VRAM is good enough. ( GTA 4 has poor coding. The 330m can even run Crysis 1 on high with no problems )
     
  5. StevenQ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    #5
  6. john925 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #6
    Windows 7 on Mac

    I have a MacBook Pro with Mac OS X Lion but ill be putting Windows 7 on it soon and I'm just wondering if with it running Windows if ill be able to use it just like a PC and use Windows games like GTA IV?
     
  7. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #7
    How else are you going to play GTA4? Depending on which MBP you have, it will be worth it if you want to play the game.
     
  8. john925 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #8
    Well i didnt know if it would fully run like a PC when i installed it. But it does and ive been playing all kinds of games lol
     
  9. markus843 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    North america
    #9
    I tried with the 13" cMbp, bootcamp ofc. I got 20~ frames per second. You should be good with the 1gb card.
     

Share This Page