GTA Vice City

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nicknicknickh, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. nicknicknickh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    #1
    Am I going to need a mouse on my 15.4" Early 2011 Macbook Pro ( the new one ) to play GTA Vice City? I've never played a GTA game before and though 15 bucks for the full game on the Mac App store seemed like a good idea. :cool:



    Or am I going to need anything else? appreciated guys.
     
  2. Brandon0448 macrumors 6502

    Brandon0448

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #2
    I don't believe you need a mouse although it would probably be very difficult to play without one. Any kind of shooter is going to be difficult using a trackpad.
     
  3. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    I have been playing GTA 3 since launch (yet to buy vice city) and you def. need a mouse. It will be a pain shooting gangs with a track pad (you need to be somewhat fast at aiming before you die). You won't need it for driving but for aiming and looking (when walking), it will really help a lot.

    Well, technically you can aim with keyboard to make life easier but you cannot aim and move at same time on keyboard (unless you set WASD for movement and IJKL for aim but that ain't easy).

    Edit: just bought it, now downloading. WooHoo!
     
  4. Indy89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Sorry to jump in on this thread but it saves starting a new one for my question. Does anyone know if the mac versions of GTA support a gamepad like the Windows versions do?
     
  5. ng7apoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You can but not without a little bit of configuration first. What I use is a great little app called USB Overdrive that allows you to map a button press on a gamepad to a keyboard button so all you need to do is match up the buttons with the corresponding keys.

    Can set it per game too so that configuration works with only that game.
     
  6. BKF macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #6
    I just downloaded Vice City and my mouse motions are absolutely haywire on it. I can't crank down the sensitivity in the game enough to compensate. Is it my mouse? Do I have the wrong kind of mouse? The wrong settings? Am I missing something? Also I'd really appreciate a clear guide to how to aim, for instance, and other tricks like that.
     
  7. Adam- macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #7
    PS3 Pad

    I've just bought vice city, and a lot of the reviews say that it works perfectly and easily with the PS3 controller. Does anyone know if there is an easy way to do it or whether it uses the mac bluetooth connectivity?
     
  8. Adam- macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #8
    Turns out i've answered my own question, yeah its possible and automatic! Finally!! Wish other games would do that too!
     
  9. fvsucat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #9

    How did you make the PS3 controller work?
     
  10. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #10
    You might have to use GamePad Companion (App Store). I haven't used it though. The controls got weird in the middle of a police battle with Vice City for me at least twice. I was using the keyboard and mouse and never had this happen with the PC version.
     

Share This Page