GTX 1070 or RX 580 in cMP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Squuiid, Jun 30, 2017.

  1. Squuiid, Jun 30, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2017

    Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #1
    I have a GTX 1070 in my cMP running macOS Sierra, however I have concerns about the quality of NVIDIA's web driver. I also get frustrated having to wait for NVIDIA to release a new driver each time there is an OS update. I know you can hack the driver to force an older version but this is too much effort for my liking. Finally, I also have concerns about the longevity, and quality, of NVIDIA updates.

    I have about a week left to return the 1070 and I'm considering an RX 580 to replace it.
    The RX 580 will be natively supported in 10.12.6 and in High Sierra and I think system stability and ease of use (native driver) are probably preferable to the somewhat higher performance of the 1070.
    This is the card I have in mind:
    SAPPHIRE Pulse Radeon RX 580 8G GDDR5 Dual HDMI/DVI-D/Dual DP Graphics Card - Black

    Will I be better off moving to an RX 580? I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts before I return the card. Thanks.
     
  2. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #2
    580 will be natively supported and offer great application performance.

    1070 is superb in Windows but it's a pain to update in macOS and Nvidia hasn't fixed OpenCL bugs for two years.

    Before any Nvidia salesboy refutes anything, I'm moving both of my 1070s into a cMP tomorrow.
     
  3. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    Ha! Can I ask what for?
    What are you replacing them with?
     
  4. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #4
    I sold my cMP last year. Now I need an extra rig so I figure it's cheaper to buy a cMP and just move my existing GTX 1070s into there. It's cheaper to buy a cMP than to buy case+mobo+cpu+ram+hdd+PSU.

    The PC the cards came from will then be free to mine with a pair of 390X I have in the closet.
     
  5. fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    Drivers aside, the 1070 spanks the RX580 hard.

    I'd be curious to know and read about experiences using the 1070/1080 in Mac OS though today. I didn't expect it to be bad. I'd love to have a 1070.
     
  6. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #6
    In Windows sure. In macOS...depends on app, OpenCL or not. We have to see also who did a better job with Metal 2.0 optimised drivers.
     
  7. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #7
    Yep, exactly my feeling. And my guess is that a macOS native (and newly developed) driver will far exceed NVIDIA's web driver.
    This is what I'm basing my whole decision on really.
     
  8. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #8
    Actually considering the exact same purchase myself as a stop gap from my GTX680 until we know more about the next Mac Pro. I'd read this "Pulse" card is the version Apple use in the developer kit so might be the most compatible.

    Never having used a card without a Mac ROM I've been looking for reports of how it is recognised and about compatibility with existing Mac games.
     
  9. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #9
    lol can any of you even find an RX 580 in this crazy ether mining period? (thinking about Apple eGPU Dev Kit)
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, Jul 1, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2017

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #10
    Very hard, you have to know people and pay premium. Just bought one now.

    Here's the secret. If the site says 'out of stock' it just means they can't handle all the messages. You have to call and show the money and they will sell to you.
     
  11. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #11
    Guess that is why there are so few reports about compatibility.
     
  12. orph macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    it's good to say what apps you want to run or if you just want to play games and if you want to boot in to windows to play games. (1080p/4k?)

    1070 has also had it's price hit by mining too prices i think.

    the ATI card may be easier to use in osx, less pain and perform ok open CL will be nice i gess and will be fine for most pro apps.
    if you want to boot in to windows the 1070 may win out but the cmp CPU is old so if the game is cpu limited then the card will just sit there and chill, i have a GTX770 and all the total war games lose fps hard thanks to the CPU (and there not well threaded).
    (fps tend not to be cpu limited sim games tend to be)
     
  13. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #13
    My other cMP has a 1080 in it which I run Windows 10 on and use for gaming.
    This is strictly for macOS general use.
     
  14. Prince134 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    #14
    Treat yourself better and get a 1080 ti for gaming in boot camp windows 10.
    Rx580's performance only get roughly 55% of that of 1080 Ti.
     
  15. orph macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    id get something cheaper if it's just for general use, RX560? (is that working fine? im out of date on that)
    tempted to say stick to a ATI card if there working without 'fixes' just to make life simple.

    dont see the point in a 1070 or 580 for checking emails,web use word etc
    might as well save some cash and spend it on something nice

    @Prince134 he has a 1080 already.
     
  16. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #16
    For me it is just something to keep running the latest MacOS game ports for the next year or two until we see what Apple come up with as an upgradable machine. Hopefully still in 1440p and decent quality, but even 30-40fps is OK for me.

    The RX580 price is about as much as I'd spend given I need to start saving for the next machine. I've never bothered with bootcamp but it would be nice to still have that option is needed so the lack of boot screen may be an issue, also for troubleshooting etc.
     
  17. orph macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    @Mattww
    i think there are reports of the RX 4xxx/5xx cards working without messing around in osx10.13 so if you can wait for that it might make things simpler.
    when you say "Hopefully still in 1440p and decent quality, but even 30-40fps is OK" do you mean with games? or UI?
    in osx or windows?
     
  18. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #18
    Games in MacOS, never had any issues with UI performance and not yet given in to putting Windows on it.
     
  19. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #19
    Also in Sierra 10.12.6 beta, with the final due for release v soon.

    Needed Windows for Doom primarily, also Unreal Tournament, as well as a few others. macOS can't quite match Windows when it comes to games selection.

    I use my Steam account in macOS to play the old LucasArts remasters (Day of the Tentacle, Full Throttle, Grim Fandango, Thimbleweed Park, Monkey 2, etc) as well as Civ V, Firewatch and a few others.
     
  20. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #20
    Great thing about Steam if you own a gaming PC you can stream games from it to your Mac in highest settings. You don't need a good GPU on your Mac. Just a local network.

    I only ever used a good GPU on the Mac for creative apps.
     
  21. joebclash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #21
    That's good news. I want to get an RX card soon. My 750ti has served me well but I'm getting alittle sick of macos upgrade issues with webdriver.
     
  22. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #22
    Anyone who installed the RX 580 Pulse know if you get an 8-pin to 2x6-pin splitter in the box or need to get that separately?
     
  23. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #23
    I've had a mixed experience with the GTX 1080 in my cMP. Usually it works well. I haven't seen any screen artifacts, but sometimes the display flashes black and occasionally the drivers cause a kernel panic and the computer restarts. It doesn't happen very often though. I'd be tempted to trade it out for an AMD card, but I want the boot screen. I can't get it to boot up into Windows 10 without it. That's why I went with the Nvidia card and had it flashed by MVC. If they come out with a new AMD card designed for Mac with the EFI driver I would buy that.
     
  24. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #24
    ^^^^I also have an MVC flashed GTX 1080 in a 5,1 cMP and have experienced none of the issues you mentioned. My card is the Gigabyte G1 Gaming. It's working extremely well for me.

    Lou
     
  25. fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #25
    You do NOT need a boot screen in order to get into windows.
     

Share This Page