GTX 465 in Mac Pro 4.1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mrgreen4242, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #1
    Anyone have any experience with this? It is my understanding that I should be able to pop the card in, run the latest nVidia drivers install package (and the CUDA drivers) and be off and running (minus the boot screen).

    Any pitfalls I should be aware of?
     
  2. larrybeo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    If You Like Building Computers...

    May I suggest a PC? The pitfall you should be aware of is that you bought a MAC. There is a reason why Apple products cost so much is because they don't want people like you toying around with their components. If they wanted people to be able to customize their products, they would allow 3rd party manufacturers. If you want a GX465 in your Mac, you have to buy one from Apple with a GTX465 in it. Also, in other news, you are referring to a 2 year old graphics card. The GTX465 is archaic compared to the GTX660.
     
  3. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #3
    Thanks for you help. I really appreciate your insight. You were instrumental in answering my question and really changing my life.

    Also, you have no idea what you are talking about. See these threads for some more information:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1436669
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1440150
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1330964
    and this entire site: www.netkas.org

    I would just like to know if anyone has personally tried the GTX 465, a card which I am well aware of it's age and performance, as it is listed as *should work* most places, but I can't find any recent info for people who have actually done it.

    But, thanks, you were tremendously helpful.
     
  4. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #4
    Is this what he asked for?

    I don't see any reason why it shoudln't work. Make sure to at least run 10.7.4 with the newest Nvidia drivers, or in 10.8 the GTX will work out of the box.

    You will run PCIe 1.0 speed, so half the speed the GPU can do. But this is something you will only feel when doing GPU-intensive stuff as gaming or using certain graphic design apps.
     
  5. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #5
    That's my understanding as well. Thanks. I believe I read that the new Nvidia Mountain lion drivers unlock PCI E2 .0 in OS X. Maybe not in Windows 7? Thanks again.
     
  6. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #6
    Under Win7 you have full speed anyway.
    I thoguth the PCIe 2.0 was jsut for GTX 6xx - I might be wrong.
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    It appears you know most of what you need to know.

    The early 465s were 470s that didn't pass full testing. Some can be flashed into 470s and gain the additional 280 Mb of RAM and the processing power. Most can not, Nvidia isn't stupid.

    I have a few laying arounfd that I have meant to sell, they are nice cards. 1GB of RAM is still reasonable and they are faster than GTX285s.

    Just be sure to power it properly.
     
  8. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #8
    That very well could be the case - I may have misread all of that. If win7 gets full performance it solves most of the gaming problem and the increase even with a pcie 1.0 speed limit on OSX would b marked over my gt120. Thanks again!

    ----------

    So any of them, the new or old, should work then? I will power it off the mobos power connectors with th "Power Mac G5 video power cables". I think the 4,1 had a 950w PSU stock which should good, right?
     
  9. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #9
    All non EFI GTX cards are PCIE 1.0 when booted into WIndows via Bootcamp.

    The new OSX fix has no effect on Windows.

    The power cords have not changed since G5 days. just please use 2 of them and don't run any splitters.
     
  10. mrgreen4242 thread starter macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #10
    Awesome, that confirms what I thought, but wasn't positive about. And no splitters, promise!

    Thank you very much!
     
  11. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #11
    No, the 6xx cards are PCIe 3.0, which the Mac Pro doesn't support. I believe the 2008+ models all support PCIe 2.0, but up until very recently the no-EFI cards were forced to run at PCIe 1.0 only.
     

Share This Page