GTX 570 + GT 120 not working..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Soufian, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. Soufian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I bought on ebay the GTX 570 along the GT120 for my video editing workstation. It seems the GT 120 works just fine but the GTX 570 is acting really weird.

    My config:

    2 computer monitor (using the DVI output of the GT120)
    1 LCD monitor (using one of the DVI output of the GTX 570)

    MAC PRO late 2010 8 core with 16G of RAM and OS X 10.7.4

    Could anyone guide me through the install of those card please ? I currently use the ATI 5770 and need to upgrade. Are they any drivers that should be installed ? Any scripts ? Why is the GTX 570 not displaying anything ?

    Thank you folks.
     
  2. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
  3. avemestr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #3
    What OS are you running?

    You need to install NVIDIA drivers if you're running Lion or earlier.
     
  4. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4
    Not if you're using 10.7.5, the GTX 570 should just work in that release. Check the FAQ thread for more details.
     
  5. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #5
    He is using 10.7.4.
     
  6. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #6
    Why? No reason not to upgrade to 10.7.5 at this point.
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    Turns out the OP had purchased a DVI and DP version of GTX570.

    Due to language barrier, he couldn't understand this:

    - 1 Dual-Link DVI monitor port
    - 1 Displayport runs Apple 24" and 27" LED Cinema Displays

    So, he just needs a DP to DVI adapter
     
  8. Soufian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    #8
    Gtx 570

    Actually, we did follow your instructions but didnt work. I am glad this due to language barrier..:D I started to think i had been screwed :cool:

    Anyway, after having followed your instructions, that card never worked. I tried plugging it using one DVI, and then the other DVI. Failed. We then used the Display port to miniDisplay...same story. Didnt work.

    I ordered today the display port to DVI. That will be my last shot before returning you the card.
     
  9. Soufian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    #9
    Got the Display port to DVI short cable from amazone. Indeed, the GTX 570 did work...but not the GT120. It seems there is some sort of conflicts. It is either or but both cards can display simultaneously. I also tried using both DVI AND the Display port to DVI to my third monitor from the GTX 570. I got two display working but not the third one ! The upper DVI wont work if the other output are being used. This is now getting into my nerves and I am afraid I will have to return the card to the guy.
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    Sounds like you buggered the drivers or don't have the power cords to the 570 snapped all the way in.

    When 570 does not get both cables fully powered it defaults to running one screen.
     
  11. Shawn Strong macrumors newbie

    Shawn Strong

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Location:
    Newburgh, NY
    #11
    My GT 120 is not working. I bought the "DaVinci Package" GTX 570 + GT 120. Installed, did the updates, etc. Now my computer sounds like its continually doing something. Very clunky and stuttery. It's behaving slower than with before with an ATI Radeon 5870.
     
  12. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #12
    Make sure you install correct Nvidia package for your OS version

    do NOT do the OpenCl mod until you get cards stable

    try without 120, just the 570.

    then try 120 by itself

    if it works by itself try with 570 in bottom slot and 120 in 2 or 3
     
  13. Shawn Strong macrumors newbie

    Shawn Strong

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Location:
    Newburgh, NY
    #13
    Still not working (GT120). The GTX 570 works fine by itself
     
  14. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
  15. MDangerous macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #15
    Probably because he wants to run DaVinci Resolve with the GT 120 as the GUI and the GTX 570 as the GPU.
     
  16. profoto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #16
    re: GTX 570 + GT 120 not working

    I'm not sure I read about a solution. I purchased this combo earlier this week, to work with Resolve, and had problems. Either the computer froze on the gray apple screen, or it kernel panicked. I upgraded from 10.7.4 to 10.7.5, I believe I have the right drivers, but if you have knowledge, please tell me what I should do. The 570 works well on it's own, but so far not in combination with the GT 120. What drivers or other software should I be using, I'm working on a TV series, and need fast renders for dailies.

    Thanks

    Von
     
  17. Shawn Strong macrumors newbie

    Shawn Strong

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Location:
    Newburgh, NY
    #17
    Exactly! Same boat, different oars and same direction. I'm on 10.8.2, on a 2010 Mac pro 5.1. I believe this GT120 is bad. Need a replacement or working drivers. When I installed by itself in either slots, I got the grey screens, spinning and self restarting. Then grey screen flickered a couple times. No bueno.
     
  18. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #18
    Check the system log for errors messages with NVDA in them.
     
  19. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #19
    Hey guys, please contact me directly via Ebay as your names there are different from here and I get confused by the multiple screen names.

    Seems like a few bad 120s got past testing.

    The other issue is that some people seem to be doing the OpenCl fix by mix and matching from various web posts. I have a link in my ads and there is a link in first post in top sticky of this forum to show the RIGHT way to do it.

    Someone just messaged me that they replaced the 10.8.2 GLdriver with the fixed one for 10.7.4, and that WILL create all sorts of problems.

    But please message me through Ebay and reference this thread and your name here.

    Anyone trying OpenCl fix should contact me if they are confused BEFORE they start writing over system files.

    10.7.4 has a fix

    10.7.5 has a COMPLETELY 100% DIFFERENT FIX.

    10.8.2 has a COMPLETELY 100% DIFFERNT FIX FROM EITHER OF THE ABOVE.

    The "shotgun" method doesn't work.
     
  20. nlambert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #20
    This is interesting, I also get no monitor output from the GT120 when installed with the GTX570. It works fine with GTX285 in place of the 570.
    I've emailed MacVidCards via eBay & will update here once it's sorted.
    The 570 on it's own works fine by the way :)
     

Share This Page