GTX 570 Superclocked.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by phickers, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. phickers, Oct 1, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012

    phickers macrumors newbie

    phickers

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Walla Walla
    #1
    I am considering buying a EVGA GTX570/Superclocked card. I was wondering if this card will work without an additional PS. Does the overclocking of the processor 1.work in the mac pro,2. are there any additional heat or power issues to consider. IE does the overclocking demand more power than the regular version? I know I could send it back if it did not work... I am getting the 1280mb version to leave behind the "above 2gb issue".
    Also many of the EVGA cards have a rebate of $20 on Amazon through October. It might be the time to move on a new card for others too. If you already bought one you have 30 days to claim the rebate.

    I am running a 2009 4,1 version of the Mac Pro with 1 Quad core 3.33mhz processor with 12Mb on board memory and the GT 120 video card.
     
  2. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    What up Washington?
    It'll work without additional power. The GPU clock speed is determined by the manufacturer and as default will work at the speed on the box. You can also overclock more in Windows. Heat may rise a tad but nothing to worry about. A very well cooled card on average. Usually cards that are OC'd demand more power but they could also under-volt at the factory. Look at the power requirements of this exact model. I have taken advantage of EVGA's swap program with a 9800GX2 and a GTX280. Works as they state. Very nice. Your face will get blown back at the speed change against that 120. I'd be excited.
    For more info please see this dramatically extensive thread that will answer all sorts of questions.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1360927
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    As long as that card has 2 6pin power connectors you'll be fine. My 570 has 1 8pin and 1 6 pin so I'm using an external PSU to power it.
     
  4. phickers thread starter macrumors newbie

    phickers

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Location:
    Walla Walla
    #4
    Gtx570

    I ordered the card, should be here Thursday. Anybody know if I can keep the old card in there for a third monitor and a boot screen? Heck if I get some why not get it all?
    Thanks for the info!
     
  5. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    Yes I still have my stock GT120 still in there with no problems. Got it setup for PhysX under windows too lol. Both my monitors are hooked up to the 570.
     

Share This Page