GTX 660 no display on mac pro upgraded to 5,1 from 4,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Waqaszed, Aug 6, 2017.

  1. Waqaszed macrumors newbie

    Waqaszed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    #1
    I have recently brought an ASUS GTX 660 DirectCU ll and plugged it in my mac pro which is upgraded from 4,1 - 5,1 (however it shows early 2009 but running Macos 10.12.6 without any issues) so I installed the GPU and turned on the system I heard the chime without display which was expected but after waiting for a while 10 to 15 minutes I didn't get any display also and didn't hear any sound which means that the system didn't go to desktop because I would have heard Skype and other softwares signing in, so it didn't go ahead the chime. I have read few threads in which users booted into windows and got the display (I don't know how to boot into windows when I cant see the selection screen) also may be I need to install latest drivers, first of all, I want to resolve this booting issues afterward I want to flash the card mac and need guidance for that too if it's easily flashable like RX 280x and GTX680.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    You don't need to install drivers, it should work on 10.12.6.

    There is no publically available ROM for flashing that I'm aware of. If you can find a ROM and you have access to Windows, you can follow the instructions in my signature.

    Plop your GT120 back in there (both cards at the same time) so you can get boot screens and see what the heck is going on.

    Did you attach the supplementary power?
    Have you verified that the card works in another computer?
    Do the fans turns?
     
  3. Waqaszed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Waqaszed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    #3
    First of all thanks a bunch for your response. I tried without installing any drivers, I tried after installing drivers. the Mac card that I have is Radeon HD 5770 not sure if I can run both of them together because I have only one 6-pin connector.
    1.Yes
    2.Yes, just verified last night on a windows pc
    3.when I connect the power connector I see green light on GPU, I can also see the fans in full swing, I have checked the DVI port and cable as well (same cable same port with the same monitor but on PC) because I thought might be an issue with the cable but the system and card stays on I left it on for 15 minutes at least to check if display would turn on but nothing happened.

    I have noticed that the card is not booting to desktop, I have upgraded my 4,1 to 5,1 recently could it be the issue?
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    I a must a bit confused, how you power the 660?
     
  5. Waqaszed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Waqaszed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    #5
    with a 6-pin stock connector, sorry I couldn't get your question.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    Sorry about that, the auto correction…

    Is your card a single 6pin card, or dual 6pin card?
     
  7. Waqaszed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Waqaszed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    #7
    No Problem :), It's a single 6-pin card.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    If you are certain it is not booting up, you might pop in the 5770 and check the logs to see if there is an obvious clue as to what is happening.

    I've seen some people say you can boot up Windows blind by holding down OPTION key, waiting appropriate time, then cursoring over to the Windows selection and hitting Enter. I've seen others say that the keyboard is inactive if you don't have GPU EFI.

    The correct way would probably be to boot up with the 5770, set Windows as the next boot device, shut down, plop in the 660, and boot up.

    You could also pull out your MacOS drive. If Windows is the only bootable drive, the MP will boot from it.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    In this case, you can install the 660 with the 5770 together.

    Both can only require single 6pin, and the logic has 2 mini 6pin power source.
     
  10. Waqaszed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Waqaszed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    #10

    That is certainly the case, before trying to boot from windows through GTX 660 I recorded the time to reach the boot selection screen and then plopped in the GTX660 waited till the calculated time actually few more seconds tried cursoring and pressing enter and waited for 10 t0 15 minutes with same results, which means keyboard is not detected also I was using apple wireless keyboard. I also tried to run with an old HD which has El Capitan but again no display so this is 1 of the 2 options that I have to try.
     
  11. Waqaszed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Waqaszed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    #11
    OK so the solution worked by selecting windows as startup disk I plopped in the gpu and got the display in few seconds, but now other problems I installed drivers from Asus cd everything looked good but as soon as I launched the game got a checkered artifacts all over screen, freeze and restart happens each time I tried to run any game and now drivers are not working Nvidia control panel says "Nvidia display settings are not available" I am on windows 10 bootcamp, is there any step to install drivers on bootcamp for Nvidia PC cards ?
     
  12. Waqaszed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Waqaszed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    #12
    after trying hard noticed one thing, the nvidia drivers that I installed from the cd just go corrupt after that tried to install drivers from the web and the installer gave an error then installed drivers from Bootcamp USB downlaoded through bootcamp setup it got installed without a problem resolution and everything got fixed restarted worked fine untill I got an error that there is no radeon card present and boom the nivida drivers crashed again tried to run the setup brom the bootcamp folder again but gave the same error which it gave while installing via offical Nvidia website, everything works fine untill windows loads Radeon drivers then everything get crazy
     

Share This Page