GTX 680 4GIG model and power requirements (MP 4.1)?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by IceMacMac, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. IceMacMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #1
    I simply must have 4G VRAM on my next card. I'm ready to buy next week.

    Does the GTX6804G version require extra power? I've got the 2009 MP and it's almost maxed out (drives/PCI).

    I'd be replacing an existing.

    Also: Since the 2Gig version now is fully supported in 10.8.4...can we say the same of the 4G version?
     
  2. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #2
    339 views of this question...and no one with an answer.

    Can anyone help...it appears there are a lot of people interested in the answer. :D
     
  3. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    card works fine

    Nvidia has done lovely job with drivers.

    We offer an EFI version that gives PCIE 2 speeds in OSX and WIndows or you can use any PC version for partial function.

    Some come with just 2 @ 6 pin, some have 6 & 8 and the 8 pin will work with just a 6 plugged in, meaning card is designed to throttle down for reduced power
     
  4. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #4
    If you NEED to get a 4GB model GTX 680, then I suggest you act fast. The 2 x 6-pin's are getting quite hard to find these days. If you need the EFI version, go with MacVidCards - TONS of great feedback and quality work/support.

    For off the shelf 4GB PC versions, the PNY VCGGTX6804XPB was one of the few that was still available at retailers a week ago. The Zotac ZT-60103-10P is the only other 2 x 6-pin model that had availability in the past month that I'm aware of. Supplies of both are drying up with the 7xx series now available.

    I recall reading that the EVGA FTW (or FTW+) 680 cards can be used with 2 x 6-pin power, even though they are 6-pin/8-pin configured. I do not have any personal experience with them, but someone wrote about it a few weeks ago.

    If adding a power supply, then the options open up a bit more.
     
  5. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #5
    I just bought one from MacVid. I've wanted to support his efforts...and I wanted a fully appointed no-fuss option.
     
  6. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #6
    It's been awhile since I've had my 2009 macpro open.

    Does that machine have two easily accessible 6volt cable connections...or will I have to run something down from the optical bay?
     
  7. bsbeamer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #7
    If you're replacing an existing, then I'd suggest running the power adapters that are on the motherboard - should be two of them, small "rectangles" with 6-pins each.

    Cable that connects to them looks like this:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002UR1654

    Large side 6-pin's go to the graphics card, the smaller 6-pins go to the motherboard.
     
  8. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #8
    Thanks for the info bsbeamer. The card might arrive tomorrow and I'll open the baby up again and take a look.
     
  9. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #9

    I wish I'd paid a bit more attention to this last paragraph. The card you sent me has one 6 pin and one 8 pin. So will I see throttled down performance along with the throttled down power?
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    I have tried it with external power connected to power and internal, same exact benchies.

    I do no mods to power circuit, it was designed to run either way.

    My understanding is that the 8 pin would allow gamers to further overclock it.
     
  11. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #11

    So far I'm very satisfied. You done good. I needed the 4GB...and I didn't want to fuss with kext editing, power modding, etc.

    I wanted power w/out the fuss... And that's what I got.
     
  12. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #12
    Dave does good work. Thank him by not sharing the ROM with others; you'll be constantly asked for it though...
     

Share This Page