GTX 680 in 2008 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by attentionengine, Dec 3, 2016.

  1. attentionengine macrumors newbie

    attentionengine

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    #1
    Hey all - trying to get CUDA support in adobe cc 2017. I've had a GTX 285 in my mac pro early 2008 3.1 that worked for years.

    I ordered a gtx 680 flashed for mac off ebay, just popped it in and having some problems. The apple logo comes up, but distorted - (see screenshot).

    And then the whole system freezes at about 1/3 the loading bar. I've flashed PRAM, and tried safe mode, no go.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/182356744829?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    Did I buy a lemon? Could it be a power problem? Would love ideas!

    I've popped the 285 back in for now and it works a okay.

    I'm on OSX 10.10.5
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    You don't even need to ask.
     
  3. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #3
    For the reference, I was having the same issue with my MSI R9 280X whenever I tried to add EFI to some newer MSI BIOS from techpowerup.
    It just looks like a badly flashed card.
     
  4. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #4
    Return the card for a refund.

    BTW Why did you pay a premium for a flashed GTX680? This is the one Nvidia card that you can easily flash yourself.
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    Yeah, looks like a defective card. Return it ASAP.
     
  6. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #6
    My friend Guy bought a 5,1 with a 7970 he had the same issue he sent the card back the new one didn't come in a anti static bag. some people don't handle the cards right and f** them up!
     

Share This Page