gtx 680 vs gtx 970 performance in mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ilikewhey, Apr 16, 2015.

  1. ilikewhey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #1
    i know the 970 totally dominates the 680 in a windows environment. but what about osx? since gtx 680 has a proper driver while the 970 uses nvidia's generic osx driver. or did i miss something? a guy i know is selling a 2gb mac gtx 680 and i'm not sure if i should get that or the new maxwell.
     
  2. MacVidCards, Apr 16, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2015

    MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    970 leaves 680 for dead

    but 970 requires fiddly drivers
     
  3. ilikewhey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #3
    which one the gtx 680?
     
  4. lewnworxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #4
    I started with an EFI Flashed 680.

    FWIW, here's the 680's blender benchmarks:

    CPU 2.24 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon x2 / 12 GB Ram
    GPU NVidia GTX 680 (4 GB VRam, Mac Flashed)
    OS X 10.9.5
    Blender 2.73a

    Time (CPU - Autothread (16)): 04:19:18
    Time (GPU - Tiles 128x128) 02:13:06


    Ok so it was roughly 2x faster than the stock CPUs.

    However, despite it having an EFI rom, it had issues. I would get funky screen updates, color shifts, weird on screen corruptions while rendering and various other artifacts. I returned that.

    Got a 970.

    CPU 2 x 2.26 Ghz Quad-Core Xeon
    GPU EVGA GTX 970 4GB (SC)

    01:22.50 GPU 320 x 270

    Big difference. Now down to 1/4 the render time. That worked so well I picked up another one, a 970SSC not knowing it had an 8 pin and a 6 pin. That didn't work, even with a cable adapter, so I returned it and picked up a EVGA 970 4GB FTW (they were out of the SC's).

    CPU 2 x 3.46 Hex-Core Xeon
    GPU EVGA GTX 970 4GB SC + GPU EVGA GTX 970 4GB FTW
    OS: OSX Yosemite
    Blender 2.74

    Time: 02:01.97 (CPU Auto Thread)

    The upgraded Xeon's helped a lot with the CPU Only score.
    However, the big bang came from the 2nd 970:

    0:40.93 (GPU’s 320x270)

    Massive win. Far less $$ than any flavor of titan, and faster than one as well.

    Running both cards just using splitter cables off the 2 6pins. Power draw well under the 75W limits, and it's been rendering more or less around the clock for weeks. I did have to go through some crap with the drivers, however, if you wait until Nvidia releases new drivers before updating to whatever current "omg the last OS patch had bugs so here's the fix to the bugs with some new bugs we'll find in a few days that will inspire another patch to fix those" release, you won't have that issue. Now I don't even use these cards for video so I have a stock GT120 in the 4th slot to drive the 2 1920x1200 displays and that works fine, and I get boot screens because it's a stock card. As a result I really could care less about the EFI bit, and I don't do windows so it's a non issue, at least for me. If I was a gamer and needed to run windows that would be a different story.

    Short version:

    The 970 kicks the 680's ass.
     
  5. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #5
    I imagine you are running you're machine like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. lewnworxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #6
    LOL.

    Actually more like this:

    [​IMG]

    Crappy assed saturday morning haven't had coffee weak sauce iFone 4 pic.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. alexanderyuen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    #7
    Wondering if the 970 works fine in Adobe Premiere with CUDA?

    Thanks,

    Alex
     
  8. lewnworxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #8
    Not sure as I don't use premier, however if it's cuda based it'll probably be fine as other cuda based apps work ok.

    Mark
     
  9. ilikewhey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    #9
    wow thanks for the reply, for some reason macrumor decided to tell me now that i got replies to this thread,

    so is this only applied to cuda apps? my brother tends to use the computer for some light gaming, would i see some benefit from having a 970 over a 680 as well?
     
  10. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #10
    Sure...
     

Share This Page