GTX 750Ti Maxwell and Mac Pro ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by shindom, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. shindom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    #1
    Hello,

    After reading a pretty good review on the new GTX 750Ti entry GPU with only 60W TDP, I am wondering if Mavericks has drivers for it. I know that all Kepler cards are supported but this one is Maxwell-based.

    It would be nice to use a card like this with decent performance and no power pcie cables, plus it is super cheap :)

    http://www.amazon.com/Asus-GTX750TI-OC-2GD5-ASUS-Graphics-Cards/dp/B00IB9P1KG/

    Thanks
     
  2. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    Anyone know yet if the 750ti is supported on Yosemite or mavericks with the latest nvidia web driver?
    Also the new gtx 980 is amazing..i hope the tdp is low so we dont have to use a external psu. 3 Displayports 1.3!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 75a.jpg
      75a.jpg
      File size:
      77.6 KB
      Views:
      1,181
  3. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    I wasn't able to get the 750Ti working in 10.9.4, there are no drivers yet as far as I know. Going to sell it unfortunately
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Drivers for 750 in Yosemite

    Looking forward to 980....ill bet Nvidia will write drivers.
     
  5. thricenine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    #5
    So you are saying that the 750ti will work in Yosemite? Do you know if anyone has actually been able to get it running smoothly in the current Yosemite Beta? After several searches I havent been able to find this information anywhere.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    Netkas and I have both posted about 750 and 750ti being functional in Yosemite.

    It is not a finished product, has various issues. But every reason to believe that it will improve as Yosemite gets closer to release
     
  7. sektor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #7
    Hello,

    I just bought an GTX 750Ti for my MacPro 5.1 (Mid 2010) but it doesn't work. I get blank screen and the boot chime sound keeps repeating.

    Am i missing something?

    Thanks
    Alex
     
  8. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    you need to be on yosemite 10.10 and have the latest nvidia web drivers
     
  9. sektor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #9
    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes, i'm on 10.10.
    about drivers though, on nvidia website it doesn't have any OS X drivers.

    Where do I get them from ?
     
  10. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #10
    There's a sticky thread right at the top of the forum:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1440150
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    You have been a member of this forum for over 5 years, yet you only have 22 posts. It might be time for you to browse around and learn a little about the forum and it's contents before you post asking questions that are here, easy to find, and viewable by all members.

    Lou
     
  12. tdunn81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #12

    Does anyone have an update on the 750Ti? I have the same card with a Mac Pro 4,1 and I only get a black screen but it boots normally. I have 10.10.3 and the latest Nvidia drivers. Can't figure this out.
     
  13. zuccs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #13
    Same boat as you mate. Fresh OS X install. Latest web drivers. Got the extra power cable. No motherboard beeping, just a black screen.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. tdunn81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #14
    Mac Pro 4,1...I have tried OSX 10.9, 10.10...fresh install, various Nvidia and/or Mac drivers. No dice. It boots past the chime but I get a kernel panic menu that says "your computer was restarted due a problem" (no kidding). On one of my drives, it boots eventually if one monitor is plugged into my Apple video card. The other monitor connected to 750Ti does nothing. On my other hard drive, it just reboots over and over with the kernel panic menu.

    Can't figure it out. Seems like a lost cause to me. I've spent 10 hours on this...it's not worth the time. I have no idea how others have made it work. It seems hell-bent on NOT working.
     
  15. zuccs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #15
    I get this error if I boot plug in both the GT120 and GTX750ti. If I just plug in the GTX, I don't even get to the first beep..
     
  16. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #16
    Make sure you have the web drivers correctly enabled. That is, if you run this in a terminal:

    nvram boot-args

    you should see "nvda_drv=1" in the output. For example, this is what I have:

    Code:
    ~> nvram boot-args
    
    boot-args        nvda_drv=1
     
  17. zuccs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #17
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    Yep, I'm getting 'nvda_drv=1'. And 'web drivers' are selected in the Nvidia menubar app. But still getting black screen of nothing and no post!
     
  18. tdunn81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #18
    That is the exact same problem I have with my Mac Pro 4,1 and the GT 120 / GTX 750Ti.

    Well, I was able to make the ASUS GTX 750Ti fully functional on the Mac Pro...although via Bootcamp and a fresh install of Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. Actually, it worked out perfectly and in no time.

    This is really only a 50/50 resolution since I can't use the GTX 750Ti with FCX and Lightroom on the Mac, which is what I intended. But, I can use it for gaming on Windows 7.

    I guess I'll have to wait until Nvidia/Apple sort out their drivers. I don't have any other viable ideas.
     
  19. tdunn81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #19

    Hi Asgorath,

    Can you expand more on how to do this? I'm certainly no expert at this stuff, is it possible to type out a simple step-by-step on how to make sure they are correctly enabled?

    Thx,
    Tim
     
  20. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #20
    tdunn81:

    1. Launch Terminal from your Utilities folder.
    2. Type in "nvram boot-args" (without the quotes) and press [Return].

    You should see "nvda_drv=1". This will confirm that you have the Nvidia web drivers enabled.
     
  21. zuccs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #21
    Glad you got it half working, but I don't own a Mac Pro to run Windows! :)
     
  22. petelugo macrumors newbie

    petelugo

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    #22
    I may be late in the game here, but I have a EVGA GTX 750ti sc working in a 2008 mac pro with an ASUS GTX 770 OSX 10.10.5 using Nvidia web drivers and Cuda 7.xx. Now the 770 seems to work from 10.8 and up. I have occasional power up issues, but my best guess is that the power up issues are due to a dying PSU. Doesn't even chime and I need to leave unplugged for a while then bam. Both cards register and Cuda is working in all apps that I use.
     
  23. petelugo macrumors newbie

    petelugo

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    #23
    Ok dudes hahaha - I just threw a new power supply from dvwarehouse into my 2008 Mac Pro and the answer is YES. EVGA 750ti sc (from B&H) working flawlessly. Haven't tried the display port yet, but the DVI and HDMI work fine - no audio through HDMI. Specs are OS X 10.10.5 NVIDIA Web Driver 346.02.03f01 CUDA Driver 7.0.61. Mac Pro 2008 upgraded to 3.2 Ghz dual Quad-Core, 32gb ram, ASUS GTX 770 and EVGA 750ti sc & CalDigit Fasta USB3/Esata 2 that has 2 internal sata3 connections and I threw a OWC multi-mount into the Superdrive bay with a couple of Samsung 850 500gb SSD (connected to the Fasta card. I had to cut the side of the drive bay so the cables would reach) that have the OS main/startup disk and a second fast storage disk that redline the Blackmagic disk speed test thing. GPU - OpenCL works in all programs. I use it for FCP7, CUDA working in CS6, DaVinci 11 Lite (only runs 1 card the 770 thru trial and error buy full version and you have both), REDCINE X utilizing CUDA - both cards totalling 2176 cores and 13 multiprocessors. Pretty dope little experiment. Hope it helps... The GTX 770 works perfect since OS X 10.8.5. That was long but I wanted that info myself after I accidentally won a 2008 mac pro on EBAY that I had to FU@# with.
     
  24. Southern Dad macrumors 65816

    Southern Dad

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    Shady Dale, Georgia
    #24
    Lots of details but this sounds like it would work with Minecraft. I could have a solution to a 13-year-old's issue.
     
  25. jolanyehis macrumors newbie

    jolanyehis

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #25
    I'm on the same page Have a mac pro 8core 2008 and want to update to a better card, but don't know anything about these cards , I heard good things about the gtx 750 but don't know if it would work on my mac pro, I use premiere and lightroom, so I wouldn't like to get something that would not allow me to use those programs, I'm running on mavericks because I read some bad things about Yosemite. but If updating it would make it work, I wouldn't mind upgrading.,
    I also run boot camp and would like something that would allow me to play some games, if anyone got the 750 or 750ti please share
    Thanks in advance !!!
     

Share This Page