Gtx 770 for Mac Pro 4.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LittlePaul, Mar 15, 2014.

  1. LittlePaul macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #1
    Hi,
    i have a Mac Pro 4,1 with a Ati 5770.
    There are some gtx 770 with upgrade my Mac without changing the card and flash EFI?
    I see a video with a Asus GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB GDDR5
    that's not have a Efi flash, but really work fine?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLlQZirX9yY

    Thank's
     
  2. Manware macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #2
    Hello LittlePaul

    I have a MSI GeForce GTX 770 2048 MB in a Mac Pro 2008.
    The card is a pc version but works well in Mountain lion.
     
  3. LittlePaul thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #3
    but work a 5GT/s link speed?
    I work with 10.9.2.
     
  4. LittlePaul thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #4
    Asus GeForce GTX780 3 GB

    Someone have installated this card without EFI ROM?

    Asus GeForce GTX780 3 GB - GTX780-3GD5

    Thank's
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    It should, yes.
     
  6. Photios macrumors member

    Photios

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #6
    I picked up an EVGA gtx 770 4gb last weekend at a local Frys. Here's the card I got on Newegg:
    EVGA 04G-P4-3776-KR GeForce GTX 770 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 SLI Support FTW 4GB Dual w/ EVGA ACX Cooler Video Card
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130948

    It has worked flawlessly, on both my mac and in bootcamp Win 7. Very quiet too. The EFI has not been flashed, though I know it's possible as there are a couple of vendors selling flashed cards on ebay. Right now, I'm trying to save that $200 and use it unflashed. I have an old gt 120 card which does not require additional power, which I can use in case I need to have startup screen access and boot into another drive. Right now, I'm using a utility called Bootchamp in OS X to boot into windows, but the Startup Disk in the preference panel does the same thing.
     
  7. LittlePaul thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #7
    Mac or Hackintosh?

    Hi,
    arrived at this point i have a doubt:
    keep my Mac Pro and buy a Gtx780, or sell it for a hackintosh.
    Help me understand the pros and the cons.

    My Mac Pro:
    2x 2,26
    32gb ram
    ssd 128+ 2x hd 1T
    Randeon 5770
    Usb 3.0
     
  8. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    Personally, I'd stick with a 680 GTX or a 760; the 770 and 780 use more than 225w.

    I got the 680 GTX Mac Edition for my 5,1 and it works beautifully.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    I'm on a Mac Pro 5,1 running 10.9.2 with Nvidia Web Drivers and Cuda 5.4.7. My Video Card is an overclocked Gigabyte GTX 780 flashed by MVC and running on internal power. No issues here.

    Lou
     
  10. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #10
    MVC GTX770 Reference model... no complaints! Works perfectly :)
     
  11. LittlePaul thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #11
    Hi
    i have buy the Asus GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC 2GB GDDR5.
    I need help for installation.
    which is the sequence that i need to do?
    I know that i must install CUDA, but i Need install the driver nvidea or Maverick just have it? And which driver from the web site to Nvidea?

    Thank's
     
  12. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #12

    There is no logic to selling and building a mackintosh

    Your machine is an 8 core that can be upgraded in both video cards, CPU, and RAM. You can drive 4k video with that machine. If you do a CPU upgrade to faster 12core, depending on what you spend you can double your geekbench score and even push it up towards the 27-32k range, at the top limit of the most expensive new nMP trashcans

    Hackintosh means you are in the world of keeping up with drivers, etc in a maintenance spiral. And not even cheaper.
     
  13. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #13
    Generally, you don't have to install the drivers. You only need to do so to enable CUDA support.

    You can download the CUDA drivers for OS X here:https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downloads

    CUDA drivers are available for 10.7/10.8 and 10.9.
     
  14. gpzjock, Apr 10, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014

    gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #14
    I went the Hackintosh route, £1200 bought me an i7 Sandybridge 2700k running 3.5 GHz overclockable to 4.5GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 x 250GB Mushkin SSD, a Palit Jetstream 4 GB GTX 770 in a really nice case with quiet fans and an Asus P67 Sabretooth motherboard.
    It is running Mountain Lion 10.8.5, once set up drivers and patching are not an issue, just don't update blindly, solid, stable and never crashes, just like my Mac Pro 3,1. I will consider upgrading to Mavericks when 10.10 is released but until then I am in no hurry to mess with it.

    Having said that I wouldn't chop your 4,1 in just yet, it is plenty upgradable and should keep you happy for a good few years. Enjoy the GTX 770 they are fantastic cards. :D

    http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=468031&stc=1&d=1397140387
     

    Attached Files:

  15. LittlePaul thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #15
    If i upgrade the 4.1 --> 5.1 EFI i have same benefits for the Gtx770?
     
  16. LittlePaul thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #16
    Hi
    I have upgrade my Ati 5770 with the Asus gtx 770 without problem.

    I have one problem with the ram.
    I removed one bank to see if was a 1333, and after the system not recognize the bank.
    I have 4x8 = 32gb, but the system not see all of them..???

    I changed the module, but every time change the bank not recognized.

    Help please...
     

    Attached Files:

  17. LittlePaul thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    #17
    Solved

    Hi,
    I don't know what appears, but i try a remodel the ram and at the end the system have accept all modules.

    Why???
     

    Attached Files:

  18. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #18
    ^^^^The RAM was probably not seated correctly or there may have been some dust in the last two bank 1 slots. Clean out all your RAM slots.

    Your machine will not run 1333 MHz RAM at full speed without a firmware upgrade and without a CPU change to CPUs that will recognize and run RAM at the faster speed. Your current E5520s are rated to only run RAM @ 1066 MHz.

    Lou
     
  19. Smacsh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #19
    I'm thinking of upgrading my mac pro 2010 with the same video card.

    How did you connect the power? Doens't the card have 6pin+8pin?
    Is it safe to use just 6pin to 8pin adaptor in power consumption?
     
  20. lexR, Jan 3, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2015

    lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    just tried my new samsung 590D with my outgoing GTX 770 and can only get an image unto 3200x1800@60Hz??

    OSX 10.10.2
    4.1>5.1 cMP 12c @3.46 X5690's
    48gb Ram @1333
    EVGA GTX 770 Titan cooler
    1.2 DisplayPort Cable
     

Share This Page