Gtx 770 question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by w33z3r, Oct 2, 2013.

  1. w33z3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #1
    Been debating whether to get a 4gb 680 or 4gb 770 for a couple weeks now.

    I like the fact that I can flash the 680 to get boot screens but I don't totally need them. Was wondering if this GTX 770 would pull too much power running without an external power source?

    Thanks!
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    It is a 6+8-pin power requirement but it is only just outside the Mac Pro's specified limits.

    According to TomsHardware, it will hit 225W often but can peak at about 250W for brief periods when cool.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-770-gk104-review,3519-25.html

    If you were to overclock you would certainly exceed the power requirements. Given how much you are proposing to spend on the card, is there a reason you are not paying for an additional power supply to run it properly?
     
  3. w33z3r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #3
    I'm not against running additional power to it just didn't want to do that if it wasn't needed. As I've seen some mention on the boards that 770s should be fine running off stock power. Is this 770 an exception though since it's not exactly a reference card?
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    Just because www.barefeats.com ran the Titan off of stock power, it's not something that I would recommend to anyone.

    ----------

    From what I've read, the GTX 770 is essentially a tweaked GTX 680. That's why they bench very similarly. There are a good number of people who have even managed to flash GTX 680s with GTX 770 firmware. What they ended up with were identically performing cards.

    In my opinion, given a choice between a GTX 770 or a GTX 680 for a Mac Pro, I would go with a GTX 680 every time. Not having the power consumption issues in the back of my head is enough for me to sacrifice a few frames per second in a game.
     
  6. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #6
    Providing you get the 680s with 2x6-pin power of course. Besides... aren't the 680s getting hard to find these days?
     
  7. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #7
    Yes, I believe GTX 680 inventories are drying up.
     
  8. w33z3r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #8
    If I were to get an additional power supply for the card does anyone have any recommendations?
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    ^^^^OK, again with a MacVidCards modified GTX770 or GTX780 an additional PS will not be required.

    Lou
     
  10. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #10
    This one has been mentioned by some forum members. I do not have any personal experience with it.

    In regards to Macvideocards' claims that his modified GTX 770 and GTX 780s not needing additional power supplies, it has been shown that even if under clocked to where these cards have a TDP of 225W or less, there's no definitive way to tell how much and were they will pull those 225W from. Since 8-pin connectors are specced to provide up to 150W, it's conceivable that these cards can try to pull 150W from that 8-pin connector and the remaining 75W from the PCI-e slot and the 6-pin connector.

    At this point, I don't think anyone can prove that it won't cause long term damage. It's entirely possible that problems won't manifest immediately. If/when that happens, who will you blame? Who will you turn to? Will Macvideocards still be around? Will he be responsible for blown logic boards?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #11
    I think the same could be said of any commercial manufacturer's cards too. Unless you find a manufacturer willing to offer a long warranty, cards should work as specified until long after that warranty is up.

    No manufacturer would be expected to honour a warranty if you use a card outside its supported specification either so if you use a MacVidCards 770 and it fries your Mac Pro in three years time, nobody would expect him to offer anything more than "that's a shame - sorry to hear it".
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    Fair enough, but they don't promote their video cards with 8-pin power connectors for use in Mac Pros either.
     
  13. sunsetsothickly, Oct 2, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2013

    sunsetsothickly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #13
    Anyone flashed a 770? Or just go for 780?

    Following on from the apparent scarcity of 680s these days and the similarities between 680 and 770 - has anyone done a home flash job on one of them?

    I don't need boot screens, but PCIE 2.0 5GT/s in Boot Camp would be preferred. They would be in an expansion chassis, so power not an issue.

    OR... Is the performance advantage of the 780 and Titan so great that they'll be significantly faster than the 770s even at 2.5 GT/s? Cost does come into it as well, to be sure.

    Unfortunately, limited 'approved suppliers' for our group, so getting a MVC modded Titan (or three) is not an option. I wish it was.

    Edit: Sorry, should mention - this is for CUDA-accelerated tomographic reconstructions and filtering. Not gaming.
     
  14. flowrider, Oct 2, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2013

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #14
    Look at Post #4 above.

    It is my understanding that unflashed Nvidia Cards do not face the 2.5 GT/s limitation that AMD cards have, when used in an OS greater than 10.8.3 with either Apple of Nvidia Web Drivers. They will run at the full PCIe 2 speeds of 5.0 GT/s.

    Shame you can't use the MacVidCards resource. The MVC/Netkas combination has produced some truly phenomenal results, and without their presence in the community the Apple Graphic Card solution would be in truly bad shape. It is my belief that without these two guys, neither EVGA or Sapphire would have produced Mac versions of their cards. But, that is just my opinion.

    Lou
     
  15. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #15
    My understanding is that Nvidia cards that do not have Apple EFI firmware will run at 5GT/s in OS X only. In Bootcamp, they will be limited to 2.5GT/s.
     
  16. sunsetsothickly macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #16
    Yep, that is the basis of my conundrum. NLM filtering is done in OSX, but tomographic recons from one of the scanners can only be done in Windows.
     
  17. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #17
    .

    i went with the 780gtx 3gb by macvideocards .. no need for extra psu
     
  18. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #18
    ^^^^I did the same thing. Mine is a Gigabyte Windforce3 model GTX780. MVC has it now, I can't wait to get it back and installed!

    Lou
     
  19. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #19
    Have you read this thread yet?
     
  20. fhenry macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #20
    He offers a mod service for 200$ may be it help you
     
  21. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #21
    i believe he mods the card to pull less power
     
  22. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #22
    Less total power, perhaps, but does it prevent the cards from trying to pull more than 75W from any single source of power (there are 3 sources, the PCI-e slot, one 6-pin power connector, and one 8-pin power connector)?
     
  23. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #23
    Yeah, I can see that totally working in a company setting.
     
  24. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #24
    who knows but i think there are other members here who are runing 780gtxs from him
     
  25. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #25
    Just because there are others using it, doesn't prove that they won't do damage to your machines over time.
     

Share This Page