GTX285 & earlier with Mavericks = NO CUDA

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacVidCards, Nov 20, 2013.

  1. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #1
    I have noticed this myself but haven't seen a thread here.

    A quick googling showed several hits.

    Does anyone have backup info or conflicting reports? (i.e., "you're a moron Dave, just rendered 'Titanic 2' using CUDA on a GTX285 in 10.9")

    My feeling is that this is an oversight somewhere between Nvidia and Apple driver teams.

    It is also possible that the level of CUDA in 285 has been deprecated.
     
  2. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #2
    I noticed that I'm not seeing Cuda with my GT120 anymore.
     
  3. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #3
    Is this the "Apple Soup Nazi" saying "No CUDA for you!"?

    I wonder how much ATI paid Apple to do this, or if it's just another example of Apple's incompetence in the QA realm....
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4
    As far as I know, the Cuda drivers come from Nvidia and Apple has nothing to do with them.
     
  5. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #5
    I have the cuda drivers from NVidia installed.

    But the application that lets me pick between 'CPU Render' and 'GPU Render' no longer lists GPU as an option.

    I'm using the same version of the software as I was in 10.8 when it worked.
    Because the GT120 rendered as fast as my 2.26 CPU, I wasn't worried enough to downgrade and see if the option was back.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    It seems much more likely that Nvidia is forcing obsolescence so you have to upgrade to a newer card.
     
  7. skippyfx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    S.F. Bay Area
    #7
    I'm in the same boat. So far, no CUDA support with Mavericks...
     
  8. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #8
    Apple has nothing to do with CUDA and doesn't control it.

    Sounds like Nvidia is just tired of supporting CUDA on the Mac or they're slow.
     
  9. kkanuck macrumors newbie

    kkanuck

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #9
    Nvidia Drivers do not even work

    I have a Mac Pro 2009 on Mavericks and my Nvidia driver 313.01.03f01 is also not supported, it is forcing me to be on an Apple OSX Default driver, has anyone else had this issue on top of Cuda not working?
     
  10. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    ^ ^ ^ ^Everyone is having this "issue". It's really not an issue. Nvidia has yet to release Web Drivers for OS 10.9. The Nvidia Driver Manager Preferences Panel will default to the Apple System Drivers in Mavericks. There is much discussion about this on this forum.

    Lou
     
  11. Tutor, Dec 28, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013

    Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #11
    Hitting the nail on its head.
    Patience is in order.
     

Share This Page