Guess today is my lucky day with ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by southbark, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. southbark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    #1
    I went to frys and bought 4 Gb's of ram to put in my MacBook Pro 2.2 2.33GHZ


    Model Name: MacBook Pro 15"
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro2,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.33 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz

    BANK 0/DIMM0:

    Size: 2 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: 667 MHz
    Status: OK
    Manufacturer: 0x7F7F7F7F7F3E0000
    Part Number: 0x000000000000005130374230303436000000
    Serial Number: 0x00000000


    I thought it would only show and use 3gbs The ram i bought is made by PQI
    and has a lifetime warranty
     
  2. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #2
    My understanding is that it will show 4 but only access 3.3.
     
  3. rezonat0r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #3
    Yeah, 4GB will show up but it won't all be used.
     
  4. southbark thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    #4
    I was getting all excited oh well such is life:(:(:(
     
  5. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #5
    No harm. You still gain the advantage of having a matched pair.
     
  6. tmoney468 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #6
    I have the same exact laptop, only difference is mine's 17". I can only used 3GB of the 4GB ram I have installed, I don't know why I can't get 3.3GB (perhaps video memory?).
     
  7. madmartigan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #7
    wait, I thought that the new mbp accesses all 4 gigs?
     
  8. tmoney468 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #8
    it does, but the OP is referring to an older model of MBP, which only supports 3GB (or 3.3GB) of Ram. It's a chipset limitation for these older models.
     
  9. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #9
    Such as?

    Dual channel mode is over-rated.
     
  10. digitalfrog macrumors regular

    digitalfrog

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #10
    May I ask how much were they ?

    I'm flying from Europe and will be staying a couple of blocks away from a Fry's. I'm about to place an order with newegg, but maybe I should wait and drop by the shop.

    Thx

    Ralph
     
  11. MacBookJoePro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #11
    I would probably recommend doing that. Sometimes Fry's will have great deals on RAM. I purchased my 4 GB from Fry's for 80 dollars after taxes (in CA). Worst case is that you would have to wait a little longer to get it if you need to order from new egg.

    -JoE
     
  12. davinche macrumors regular

    davinche

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #12
    I second Fry's for ram, they are hard to beat when they have ram on sale.
     

Share This Page