Guest User: Does Using This Account Really Delete All Files?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by HappyDude20, May 11, 2014.

  1. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #1
    I log into a family member's MBP under their Guest User account frequently and i've edited GB's worth of movie files and documents and it says it'll erase all these files upon logging out, but is that really the case?

    Is it securely erased or is some other format at play here?

    Just wondering. :cool:
     
  2. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #2
    Depends what you mean by "Securely". The files are deleted - could the NSA dig them back up? Who knows. But they're deleted, the space is released back to the OS for other use.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    No, its just deleted. Since the guest account states this:

    [​IMG]
    It just simply removes them and if someone with a little bit of knowledge were to try to recover them, they may be successful
     
  4. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    I see what you did there...
     
  6. unplugme71 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #6
    Chances are, as a guest user, you are not going to have access to recover the files that were deleted. So its assumed, the next 'guest' user can't access anything the previous guest user did.

    Personally, I always liked DeepFreeze. Every reboot brings you back up to the last frozen system state. When you need to install or update, you unfreeze, do the updates, test, then freeze it back.

    That way, actual user accounts that accidentally delete something can reboot and have it back and working.

    You create a thawed partition for people to actually save files. These won't be erased upon reboot and also aren't protected by DeepFreeze from mistakes. But Time Machine can take care of this :)
     

Share This Page