Guhhh! I just killed my Mac Pro with a terminal entry!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Baytriple, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. Baytriple, Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012

    Baytriple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #1
    Ok Im an idiot. I have a 2007 Mac Pro 2,1.

    I was trying to get some 64 kernel stuff to work and I entered a command I found.

    I then restarted my Mac pro and am getting the No Entry sign then the machine starts up.

    I can see the drives fine on my laptop via Target disc mode.
    I can't even get the machine to start up via a USB Lion pressing the C key. Or Shift or S.

    Here is the link to the thread
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3925326?start=0&tstart=0

    Here is the code
    sudo systemsetup -setkernelbootarchitecture x86_64

    Help please
     
  2. icyderguru macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #2
    Boot into single user mode and run

    sudo systemsetup -setkernelbootarchitecture x86
     
  3. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #3
    ok what I have done is removed the SSD start up drive that was in the machine and it now starts up with the USB lion installer disc.

    Before I enter your text you kindly gave me. What does this do or not do to my machine? I guess you are telling it to not be 64, can I ever get my mac pro to run 64 bit?
     
  4. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #4
    It looks like it sets the kernel to boot in x86 mode (32 bit ?) as opposed to x86_64 which would be 64 bit.
     
  5. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #5
    Ah I see, panic over now admin can delete this post as I have wiped the SSD drive and am installing the new software again.

    I take it i will never be able to run 64 on my 32 machine?
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    you can't run 64 bit kernel on 1.1 / 2.1 Mac Pro.

    unless you want to install custom bootloaders. if you don't know what I'm talking about, stay away.
     
  7. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #7
    Booting Mac OS X with a 64-bit kernel on a MacPro1,1/2,1 is not supported by Apple, but is possible using a "Hackintosh" PC boot loader such as Chameleon. Booting the 64-bit kernel on the 2006/2007 Mac Pro on the netkas.org forum has all the information as it was figured out.

    A side effect is the ability to run Mountain Lion, which is also not supported on a MacPro1,1/2,1. How I installed Mac OS 10.8 12A239 DP4 on my MacPro 1,1 on Jabbawok's blog is the closest thing to a step-by-step how-to for installing Mountain Lion on these Mac Pros.
     
  8. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #8
    Thats great!! thanks for these links specially the second on.

    The machine is now all fixed, now time to try the links
     
  9. Pigumon macrumors 6502

    Pigumon

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    #9
    That's a bit selfish, this stuff is left up to help others in the future, without having to post the same thing again.
     
  10. Jst0rm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #10
    I agree. I hate when people delete stuff like this or don't mention the solution to their problem even.
     
  11. Baytriple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #11
    My OP was misleading as the terminal entry has nothing to do with why I was having problems restarting.

    The post titled Got my mac pro 2,1 working with mountain lion was the OP I wanted to share.

    Not meaning to be selfish just saving others misinformation as I did a silly thing that wasn't relevant.
     
  12. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #12
    Now we all learnt not to do silly things, so it's still helpful.
     

Share This Page