GUIDE: HDMI Audio

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by andrejkw, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. Fangio, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2014

    Fangio macrumors 6502

    Fangio

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #126
    Works for me as well.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Did you use this command to get Yosemite running? It might have helped
    Code:
    sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1"
    reboot

    I've rebuilt kext caches manually then, using this command
    Code:
    sudo kextcache -m /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/Extensions.mkext /System/Library/Extensions
    reboot

    Thats how I also got Trim Enabler to work.
     
  2. Hennesie2000, Jun 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2014

    Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #127
    Yes I am using that flag with a modified version of Chameleon for 10.10. Any idea if if it might make a difference for my 10.9.3 install? I cannot get HDMI audio to work at all but it works fine with 10.9.0-10.9.2.

    Update:
    It seems to work sometimes and then disappear later if I rebuild my kernel extension cache. I am using version 1.1 of the kext that was given to me for testing. I am no longer using the kernel-dev-mode flag as chameleon has been updated and doesn't need it anymore.
     
  3. AMGCLK65 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #128
    Hello..

    Im pulling my hair out trying to get hdmi audio out of r9 270x with dsdt edits.
    Will this work with hackintosh 3.1 Mac Pro ?
     
  4. Fangio, Jun 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2014

    Fangio macrumors 6502

    Fangio

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #129
    Went ahead and tested a bit more. cMP 4,1 > 5,1 & flashed 280X

    Summary, to clarify:

    HDMIAudio 1.0 and 10.9.4 / 13E16 = √
    HDMIAudio 1.0 and 10.10 / DP1 = √ (requires kext-dev-mode=1 flag)
    HDMIAudio v1.1 and 10.10 / DP1 = √ (does not require kext-dev-mode flag anymore)

    System identifies v1.1 as nvaudio, and Console reports this:
    Code:
    kext com.exvision.nvaudio  100009000 is in exception list, allowing to load
    Screenshots in #126 above show v1.1 installed. It was given to me by andrejkw for testing.

    In System Report > PCI, v1.1 is properly displayed as Audio Controller, not with the personality name (ATY,HamachiParent) anymore. This applies to 10.10 and 10.9.x.

    Update:
    HDMIAudio v1.1 and 10.10 / DP2 = √
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Hennesie2000, Jun 18, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014

    Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #130

    It is not working for me with 10.10 DP2 and only worked with DP1 using the kext_dev_mode=1 kernel flag.

    Here is my sudo kextutil output:
    Code:
    sudo kextutil /System/Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext
    Diagnostics for /System/Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext:
    Code Signing Failure: not code signed
    ERROR: invalid signature for com.exvision.hdmiaudio, will not load
    In contrast here is the result of another 3rd party kext:
    Code:
    sudo kextutil /System/Library/Extensions/CyborgRAT.kext
    Diagnostics for /System/Library/Extensions/CyborgRAT.kext:
    Code Signing Failure: code signature is invalid
    kext com.madcatz.driver.CyborgRAT  162009000 is in exception list, allowing to load
    kext com.madcatz.driver.CyborgRAT  162009000 is in exception list, allowing to load
    
    Update:
    I noticed that you are getting "com.exvision.nvaudio" in terminal but the HDMIAudio.kext is actually "com.exvision.hdmiaudio" which is not in the exceptions list. The kext used to be named nvaudio before AMD support was introduced. I can get the results you got with yours if I modify the HDMIAudio.kext info.plist file and change the package identifier to "com.exvision.nvaudio" but it still is not working on 10.9.3.

    After modifying the info.plist file for the 1.1 version of HDMIAudio I get:
    Code:
    Diagnostics for /System/Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext:
    Code Signing Failure: not code signed
    kext com.exvision.nvaudio  100009000 is in exception list, allowing to load
    
    But, it is still not working in 10.9.3.

    Update #2:
    Modifying the info.plist for the 1.0 version of the kext and then replacing the info.plist in the 1.1 version of the kext with the modified one from 1.0 DID make HDMIAudio work in 10.10 DP2 without kext_dev_mode=1. I used the info.plist from the 1.0 version because there is an invalid signature error with the 1.1 plist.
     
  6. Fangio, Jun 19, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014

    Fangio macrumors 6502

    Fangio

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #131
    I knew this beforehand since andrejkw told me that. It's called workaround or if you prefer, beta. And this is why it's not released here yet.
    See, the author is working on it, and I'm pretty confident that he told you that too. He is currently in the process of getting a Developer ID certificate which may take a while. Until then you were given, and can use this experimental version of HDMIAudio. It identifies itself as the original NVAudio extension, which should allow it to load. How about a bit patience until he comes up with a finalized 1.1 version.
     
  7. Hennesie2000, Jun 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014

    Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #132
    The 1.1 version that I was given did not identify itself as nvaudio. The info.plist package identifiers said hdmiaudio. We very well could have two different versions of the 1.1 kext. I have patience and I am simply reporting what I have tried with the 1.0 and 1.1 packages. Neither were working in 10.9.3 or 10.10 for me but I at least got 10.10 working fine.
     
  8. callumgare macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    #133
    Link is down

    Unfortunately the link appears to be down, does anyone have a copy they're willing to share?
     
  9. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #134
  10. callumgare macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    #135
  11. xbvis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #136
    Hello
    I'm xavier
    Quadro 4000 to my Mac Logiciel OS X 10.9.3 (13D65)
    Processeur 2 x 2,93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
    Mémoire 32 Go 1066 MHz DDR3
    Graphisme NVIDIA Quadro 4000 2048 Mo

    I can't get the HDMI audio to even show up in the System Preferences with this card.

    Thanks for any help you can offer!




    NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

    Jeu de composants*: NVIDIA Quadro 4000
    Type*: Processeur graphique (GPU)
    Bus*: PCIe
    Logement*: Slot-1
    Longueur de la voie PCIe*: x16
    VRAM (totale)*: 2048 Mo
    Fournisseur*: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
    Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
    Révision de la ROM*: 3598
    Moniteurs*:

    Cintiq 24HD*:
    Résolution*: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
    Profondeur de pixels*: Couleurs 32 bits (ARGB8888)
    Numéro de série du moniteur*: 2ABQ000059
    Moniteur principal*: Oui
    Miroir*: Désactivé
    Connecté*: Oui
    Rotation*: Géré

    DENON-AVAMP*:
    Résolution*: 1920*x*1080 @*60*Hz (1080i)
    Profondeur de pixels*: Couleurs 32 bits (ARGB8888)
    Miroir*: Désactivé
    Connecté*: Oui
    Rotation*: Géré
    Entrelacé*: Oui
    Télévision*: Ou
     
  12. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #137
    There currently seems to be an issue with Nvidia cards and 10.9.3 that the developer has not worked out yet. HDMI audio does work with 10.10 DP2 though and it may work with 10.9.4 which will be released soon.
     
  13. xbvis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
  14. GreenDolphin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    #139
    Rep

    andrejkw,
    Can you repost the .dmg ? The download link in the 1st post of the thread isn't working for me.

    Incidentally, my setup is a mid-2012 MBP connected (via mDP-to-HDMI adapter) to the HDMI input of a Harman Kardon receiver, connected in turn to a video-only Epson projector.

    My problem is that as long as the projector is turned off, the MBP sees the HDMI audio interface and transmits sound to the receiver fine, including 5.1 audio. However as soon as the projector is turned on, the HDMI audio option disappears from Sound Prefs, Audio MIDI Setup, VLC etc., and the only sound output device is the MBPs built-in speakers... makes the whole 5.1 reciever setup useless.

    This is obviously some kind of EDID issue, and I'm suspecting something non-standard in the receiver, but since replacing the MBP with a Dell laptop w/HDMI port works fine, Harman Kardon tech support doesn't think it's their problem. I've spent many hours poring over EDID dumps, and am still not sure what I'm seeing, so hope I can use the HDMIaudio kext to be as permissive as the Dell.
     
  15. GreenDolphin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    #140
    Whoops..

    Never mind, missed that Hennesie2000 reposted the extension on the previous page of the thread (thanks!).

    So I gave it a try, but unfortunately, it doesn't solve my problem... Looks like I'll be stuck with the laptop speakers for now, and may eventually get a streamer to hopefully circumvent the issue.
     
  16. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #141
    Just a hunch, is the receiver setup to "pass-thru" the audio and video to the projector?
     
  17. xbvis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #142
    with The download link in the 1st post of the thread working for me. Song :
    OSX 10.9.4

    [Commande introuvable*: ./install.sh]
    [Impossible de créer un nouveau processus et d’ouvrir un pseudo-tty.]
     
  18. Liger Megatron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    #143
    Has anyone had any success with getting HDMI audio on Mountain Lion please?

    Regards,
    Liger M
     
  19. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #144
    What gpu?
     
  20. xbvis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #145
    PHP:
    Nom du modèle : Mac Pro
    Identifiant du modèle : MacPro5,1
    Nom du processeur : 6-Core Intel Xeon
    Vitesse du processeur : 2,93 GHz
    Nombre de processeurs : 2
    Nombre total de cœurs : 12
    Cache de niveau 2 (par cœur) : 256 Ko
    Cache de niveau 3 (par processeur) : 12 Mo
    Mémoire : 32 Go
    Vitesse d’interconnexion du processeur : 6.4 GT/s
    Version de la ROM de démarrage : MP51.007F.B03
    Version SMC (système) : 1.39f11
    Version SMC (support pour processeur) : 1.39f11
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #146
    This is just the general hardware info, GPU is something like this in the Graphics/Display section.

    AMD Radeon HD 7950:

    Chipset Model: AMD Radeon HD 7950
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 3072 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x679a
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-E2080C-101
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.624
     
  22. xbvis, Jul 8, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2014

    xbvis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #147
    yes
    Everything is already as detailed above ......NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:
    ""...
    NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

    Jeu de composants*: NVIDIA Quadro 4000
    Type*: Processeur graphique (GPU)
    Bus*: PCIe
    Logement*: Slot-1
    Longueur de la voie PCIe*: x16
    VRAM (totale)*: 2048 Mo
    Fournisseur*: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
    Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
    Révision de la ROM*: 3598...."


    NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

    Nom*: NVDA,Display-B
    Type*: Contrôleur du moniteur
    Gestionnaire installé*: Oui
    MSI*: Oui
    Bus*: PCI
    Logement*: Slot-1
    Identifiant du fournisseur*: 0x10de
    Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
    Identifiant du fournisseur du sous-système*: 0x10de
    Identifiant du sous-système*: 0x0010
    Révision de la ROM*: 3598
    Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
    Largeur du câble*: x16
    Vitesse de la liaison*: 5.0 GT/s

    NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

    Nom*: pci10de,be5
    Type*: NVDA,Parent
    Gestionnaire installé*: Non
    MSI*: Non
    Bus*: PCI
    Logement*: Slot-1
    Identifiant du fournisseur*: 0x10de
    Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x0be5
    Identifiant du fournisseur du sous-système*: 0x10de
    Identifiant du sous-système*: 0x0875
    Révision de la ROM*: 3598
    Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a1
    Largeur du câble*: x16
    Vitesse de la liaison*: 5.0 GT/s
     
  23. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #148
    I assume you are running audio over display port to hdmi?
     
  24. xbvis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #149
    I would like running audio over display port to hdmi, but:
    There is no driver for NVidia HDMI AUDIO MAC only CUDA video
     
  25. Hennesie2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #150
    Then what are you doing on this thread? This thread is ALL about installing a kernel extension to use audio over HDMI on Mac.
     

Share This Page