Guide: Screenshots on the iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ebel3003, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. ebel3003 macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #1
    Alright, I figured this would be a worthy little tip since it's not included in Installer.app. Note: This will not show up on springboard.

    First off, download this file: http://shouldbefree.net/upload/screenshot
    Zipped version if above doesn't work: http://shouldbefree.net/upload/screenshot.zip

    Next, SFTP to your iPod, place it in the /Applications directory, as usual.

    This tool can only be ran via an SSH to your iPod. So, open an SSH run a CHMOD to correct the permissions:
    Code:
    chmod -R a+x /Applications/*
    Lastly, run the command in SSH:
    Code:
    /Applications/screenshot
    Go retrieve the file at the location it specified on your iPod when it executed.

    Enjoy!

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #2
    Sucks its only SSH...but hey its a start! Thanks.
     
  3. ebel3003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #3
    Well there's an upside: What if you want to take a screenshot of an application that's running? How do you execute it if you can't access your Springboard without leaving that application?
     
  4. recover82 macrumors member

    recover82

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    ~/
  5. tourmania macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
  6. recover82 macrumors member

    recover82

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    ~/
    #6
    I had to refresh and try a couple of times, but it finally downloaded. If it's not fixed by the time I get home, I'll upload it elsewhere for you. :cool:
     
  7. ebel3003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #7
    Mirrored: http://shouldbefree.net/upload/screenshot
    Feel free to as well if you wish.

    Also, original post updated to include new link.
     
  8. ken987 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #8
    Hi,
    When you click on your new link. A window opens up and its a bunch of garbled characters. I figured I would do a save target as...but now I just have a TXT file.
    Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  9. ebel3003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #9
    I'll zip it: http://shouldbefree.net/upload/screenshot.zip
     
  10. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #10
    I get some weird error when I try to run it. Any tips?

    [​IMG]

    I get the SAME error in Terminal on my iPod too.
     
  11. ipodtoucher macrumors 68000

    ipodtoucher

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Cedar Park, TX
    #11
    man this thing is awesome!!! here's what's on my iPod haha i've gotten most of the to work...
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #12
    Any help?
     
  13. swanseastu macrumors member

    swanseastu

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales UK
    #13
    this is oh so cool!!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. nukiduz macrumors 6502

    nukiduz

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #14
    i see youve installed wedict.can u make it work?mine crashes when it starts
     
  15. tuenn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #15
    Same here. I think the problem is that we moved our apps to /private/var/...
    Did you?
     
  16. irwin8417 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #16
    same as me yersterday is working,have you guys install dock?

    after i uninstall dock,screenshot is working
     
  17. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #17

    Ok ill uninstall Dock then... :p
     
  18. oneone89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #18
    im kinda new to all this, and i was wondering how you open an SSH and run a CHMOD? I use cyberduck to sftp, can i use that for SSH as well?
    thanks in advance
     
  19. recover82 macrumors member

    recover82

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    ~/
    #19
    Open up Terminal.. it's in /Applications/Utilities on your Mac
    issues this command: ssh root@'your iPods IP address'

    Example: ssh root@192.168.1.5
    enter your root password (the default is "alpine")
    then run your chmod command
     
  20. oneone89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #20
    cool, thanks a lot!
     
  21. PNTBLDan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Missoula, MT
    #21
    Hi, new to the forums. Trying to get this to work and I keep getting an error message.

    I've jailbroken the touch and it works just fine. I've got iNdependence to SFTP. Not sure if any of this matters but just trying to give any relevant info...I've downloaded BSD Subsystem Ver. 1.5, Installer Ver. 3.0b4, SummerBoard Ver. 3.0a11, Community Sources Ver. 3.0, and Term-vt100 Ver svn198.

    So I download the screenshots.zip and it shows up as a quicktime file. no problem I just change its extension to .app (I'm assuming?). Then I load it into Applications via iNdependence. Run the chmod and everything like its outlined. When I type /Applications/screenshot I get the error message...

    zsh: no such file or directory: /Applications/screenshot

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Edit: Ok, so I got it to work, now it says "screen shot is located at /tmp/foo_0.png"
    I've got no idea how to retrive this? As I said before, total newb here and sorry for the probably mundane question but I'd appreciate any help :)

    ~Dan
     
  22. Freakofnature macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #22
    Anyone know how or why the icons appear in the order that they do, and can that be changed?


    THanks.
     
  23. Tmchenry2010 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #23
    go on youtube and search for

    how to change order of icons on ipt

    then watch the video that is in two parts
     
  24. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
    #24
    im using an edited version of customize that works just great. There are links somewhere in the forum.

    arisian
     
  25. TonyHoyle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #25
    Umm.. why is it trying to register a listening port? It's a screenshot app not a server.

    Does anyone have the source to verify this is legit?
     

Share This Page