Guild Wars et al. on MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by pjbannard, Jul 21, 2008.

1. pjbannard macrumors newbie

I've just bought a new MacBook (2.4 GHz C2D, 2 GB RAM, and the unfortunate Intel GMA X3100 integrated graphics card), and before I run out to buy a copy of XP and some games, I wanted to check to make sure they'll work given the weak graphics card. For what it's worth, I'm a casual gamer and don't mind playing at low graphics settings as long as the game is playable.

The main game I'd like to play is Guild Wars; I've seen some stuff to make me hopeful it will run ok, but nothing 100% definitive about the MacBook with the X3100. Anyone running it?
    Other interests are Rome: Total War (I'm a Latin teacher, so I've got to give it a try) and Elder Scrolls: Morrowind and/or Oblivion. I'd also love suggestions if there are other classic PC games of the past few years, particularly RPGs, that will run on the MacBook (and preferably are dirt cheap at this point).

Thanks!

2. ZolakJHS macrumors member

Not sure about all those games, but I don't think Oblivion will run well. I ran that game on my old computer (2.4 single core, Radeon 9800 Pro GFX) and it limped, badly. I think those were the minimum requirements. I don't think the graphics card (or lack thereof) will hold up for Oblivion. I will defer to others opinions on the other games.

3. ingouk macrumors newbie

guildwars should run fine. got it running on my work laptop which uses a 945GM chip.

4. BlackMamba macrumors newbie

I have the same macbook but I upgraded to 4gb of memory and I have problems playing guild wars. The fps is really low and it keeps on lagging even on low settings. I dont know how people make guild wars run smoothly.

5. pjbannard thread starter macrumors newbie