Guitar--->Duet--->Logic

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by MowingDevil, May 31, 2010.

  1. MowingDevil macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #1
    I find it particularly odd that when recording gtr tracks into Logic I can only have the Duet set at 4 out of a max 75. My guitar does not have active pickups or anything although it is my loudest axe. I sent the unit back to Apogee for repair and they said they could find nothing wrong with it. Perhaps I have a setting wrong somewhere? ...in Maestro w/ the mixer perhaps? I'm not too worried about this as the recordings are coming in fine, I just find it extremely strange that anything over 4/75 will clip if I strum really hard.
     
  2. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #2
    Completely normal. Actually I'd say it's a good thing. My Apogee ONE behaves similarly with hot guitars like Les Pauls with humbuckers.
     
  3. originalcliche macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #3
    Completely normal. Happens with mine as well.
     
  4. MowingDevil thread starter macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #4
    Ok, makes me feel better. Actually my guitar has humbuckers as well so there ya go.
     
  5. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    So what's the problem with "4"? Modern guitar pick-ups are "hot" and make well over 1V peak to peak. Compare that to the millivolts you get from a typical microphone.
     
  6. MowingDevil thread starter macrumors 68000

    MowingDevil

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC & Sydney, NSW
    #6
    There's no problem with it, it just struck me as odd. Since there is a spectrum of 0-75 I figured even being hot it would be in the 35-40 range. To me 4 seemed barely on but if it works it works.
     

Share This Page