Guys/Gals, I need some advice :/

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by jaikob, Jun 23, 2009.

1. jaikob macrumors 6502

jaikob

Currently, I am a web designer working out of my home. My one person business required Charter Business Solutions High Speed internet, to host my small server. I now cannot afford charter, so I gave them a call, and asked to terminate my service. I have been a customer since 2006ish 2007ish, so that means my contract ended at the beginning of this year.

I contacted them, and was told there would be a termination fee of $1,120.00 because somehow we signed a new contract in 2008. Frustrated and baffled, I told them my situation, and they said there was nothing they could do for me. I called back later that day, and asked to be elevated to someone higher in the chain. I was told by them that there was no termination fee, and that we where not even in a contract! I told him to leave a note on the account, and would cancel my service later.

Well, I just got off the phone with them again, and they still insist I "signed" a new contract for 3 years. I never physically signed anything, I clicked a button online that said "Upgrade of Service". I physically signed my original contract (the one in 2006-2007) by the way.

If I am understanding everything, the technician that was here lied and cheated us out when we upgraded our service to a 7.5M connection in 2008.

While on the phone, I asked to be elevated, the guy then told me that no one was present. He then hurried me through and told me to have a good day.

I need to terminate this service because I simply cannot pay for it. But its been a headache for me. I was given a retention number to call tomorrow morning, but I am afraid they are going to say the same thing.

Does anyone have any advice for me? I really don't want to be SOL in rough times like these.

Thanks.

2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

A first step might be to ask them to produce the signed agreement.