Guys, thought I didn't need any help, but.....

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tonycooper, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. tonycooper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    #1
    Hi all

    I thought I could complete a little project without asking for help, but I have a few queries!!

    Recently bought a late 2008 MacBook Pro, with a faulty opitical drive. Hard drive is 750mb. 8gb RAM. 2.93GHz Duo Core Intel.

    I have created a bootable USB with Yosemite on. The plan is to fit a 240GB SSD that I have in the main hard drive slot, and do a fresh install on this new drive. Then I'll fit the 750GB drive the the optical drive slot using a caddy I already have.

    But...... Is the standard 750GB hard drive likely to get hot in the caddy?

    And...... Do I need to set up some sort of Trimming for the SSD?

    Many thanks
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    Not so you would notice.

    Yosemite doesn't support Trim Enabler without disabling kext-signing, a security precaution I'm personally not willing to negate. Fortunately reports of running without Trim on SSDs seem to indicate no great harm being done so not an issue it seems.
     
  3. tonycooper thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    #3
    Many thanks for your prompt reply!

    Sorry, are you saying that I shouldn't notice any issues with heat ?

    Trimming - just what I wanted to hear!
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    You are very welcome. No you won't notice any heat issue in the caddy.
     
  5. tonycooper thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    #5
    Sorry to be back so soon!

    I am trying to do a fresh install of Yosemite. I created a bootable USB stick by following some online instructions. All appeared fine.

    I entered to boot menu, formatted the hard drive, and went to install the operating system. It seemed OK, but froze towards the end. I therefore force closed it, and tried again.

    However..... Now I have no boot menu when I press the Option key on start up!

    Have I done something really stupid to force shutdown???

    Any ideas?

    Many thanks again.
     

Share This Page