Hack for installing FaceTime on Leopard 10.5 ?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iPhonePhan, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. iPhonePhan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #1
    Hey folks,

    I've got a friend still running Leopard 10.5 but he wants to install FaceTime. I know FaceTime requires 10.6.4 but I wanted to get your input on any hacks that might get it to run on 10.5.

    I'm a n00b hacker and modified the plist file within the app and set the OS minimum to 10.5 but it still fails to run. Is there anything anyone else has tried that's worked? Should I be looking in other areas within the mpkg file or .app ?

    Thanks!
     
  2. khalilmedawar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #2
    That would be great ... i' m in the same situation .
     
  3. iPhonePhan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #3
    Glad to see I'm not the only one.

    Here's what I'm now working on to get this to work.

    I XAR-ed the mpkg file and took a look at the contents. Turns out there's a distribution script that runs a check for 10.6.4 before running the install scripts. I went ahead and modified the distribution script and changed it to check for at least 10.5. I repackaged the app and renamed it to FazeTime.

    I'm gonna have my friend try it out on his 10.5.8 machine and then report back results. If it works, I'll try and post a download link (with a caveat of course that this may brick your machine so I'm not responsible for anything ! ;-)

    Anyone else try this method and get interesting results ?
     
  4. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Why not just upgrade to Snow Leopard? It's only $29. <----Serious question.
     
  5. iPhonePhan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #5
    It's not for me, it's for my friend. The problem is that he tried to install SL twice and two times it failed on his brand new MacBook pro late 2009 edition. He doesn't want to risk having to reinstall his machine again if it should fail to install and I understand.

    And just for reference, both the upgrade and a fresh install failed.
     
  6. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Late 2009 MacBook Pro? That came with Snow Leopard.....:confused:
     
  7. iPhonePhan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #7
    When he got it in August it was Leopard preinstalled and had the SL upgrade CD included in the box ;-)
     
  8. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    Ah.

    To me it seems like it would be a lot easier to back up the MBP, try installing SL, and then if it fails, migrate the data back.

    Or to make a Genius Bar appointment, explain the installation issue, and get them to do it or to replace the SL disc.

    But good luck with the hack.... it will be interesting to see if it is possible.
     
  9. iPhonePhan thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Apple FanBoy Land
    #9
    No dice, yet....

    So my friend tried the custom installer I created but it doesn't seem to have gone through and installed at all. I'll keep hacking at it this evening and see what I get.

    I might also try and install this on a really old Mac Mini that's got a custom Leopard install (though I won't know if the camera works ;)

    I'll get back to you guys later with any interesting updates.
     
  10. Aneisch macrumors newbie

    Aneisch

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #10
    I tried this last night. After extracting facetime.app from the installer, I edited the minimum version in the info.plist file to 10.5.8. This removed the x from over the icon, but the app would crash as soon as it was launched.

    So no avail, unless you know of another solution, I don't think this is possible.
     
  11. Gmoney147852 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #11
    Edit SystemVersion.plist

    What you have to do is edit the systemversio.plist to say 10.6.4 on both product version strings and 10F37 In system build string and save reboot, and boom your system thinks its snowleopard. im installing iLife '11 on 10.5.8 right now. lol
     
  12. codyliger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #12
    How do you do this?

    How exaxtly do you do this? Im a newbie... Thanks!
     
  13. Gmoney147852 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #13
    Go to /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist. Open with your favorite text editor and change the build version to 10F37 and buth product versions to 10.6.4. Save. reboot, install.:D Glad i could be of some help, now i just need to download facetime, where do i get it from??? lol i got iLife '11 working fine.
     
  14. codyliger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #14
    Um I believe u just go to apple.com and search FaceTime and it will bring up the page. Or look Under the new MacBook air page and it will have the beta download link there. And thanks for the help!
     
  15. Djmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #15
    Hey.. I followed your directions and changed the info.. and now when i try to install FaceTime.. it tells me.."You are missing a critical security patch. Please use Software Update to install Security Update 2010-005."

    I already installed that update but it keeps saying that. I also rebooted 2x.. Please help! :( Running 10.5.8 with all the latest updates!
     
  16. Bernard SG macrumors 65816

    Bernard SG

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #16
    I don't think such a hack is possible. FaceTime runs on 64-Bit.
     
  17. Djmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #17
    Well the dude said he was able to install faceTime on his Leopard.. so I don't know!
     
  18. Gmoney147852 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #18
    Make sure what ever text editor you use has root priveledges, im not going to go into detail, there are plenty of tutorials, but make sure it saves, the systemversion.plist HAS to save for it to work.
     
  19. Gmoney147852 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #19
    If anyone needs help text me 318-762-4241, and i can provide more detailed instructions.
     
  20. Djmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #20
    Hey.. I am as root users.. it saves the plist. BUT i'm getting that security update error.. it's aleady freaking UPDATED!!! :mad:

    Btw I texted you....! phone number ends with ***-***-5066
     
  21. Djmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #21
    BTW guys.. if you have "Chax" installed on your Leopard 10.5.8 as soon as you change it to 10.6.4 it disappears and does not show up.. other applications might act funky.. Guess the real TRUE way there is no way.. unless we can only make "FACETIME" think it's SL.. if anyone else has any idea let me know!
     
  22. codyliger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #22
    Upgrade

    Well I gave in and just upgraded for 32 bucks to snow leopard. That wasn't bad now the only thing is backing all my stuff up I used time machine but I really think I'm just going to start all over... Thanks for all the help u guys
     
  23. codyliger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #23
    Hey, i cannot save the .plist file!!! HELP PLEASE! i says i dont have access and obviously doing what textedit says to do doesnt help! says to go to the get info pane and set rights there... also where do you guys learn this stuff? I get so mad because i want to be a wiz like yall but im not im just starting off please help me with that too!
     
  24. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #24
    I thought you said you upgraded to 10.6? You don't need to do any hacks, just upgrade to 10.6.4 and install the security upgrades via software update.

    Honestly, hacking 10.5 to get Facetime sounds kind of like a lame hack considering 10.6 is only $30 for not dealing with all this trouble.
     
  25. codyliger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #25
    Yeah but I have to wait for it to come in the mail sometime next week I know it's kinda lame but it will be my first hack and makes me feel smart!
     

Share This Page