Hacked Computer

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by astojazz1, Jun 17, 2014.

1. astojazz1 macrumors newbie

Whats up Everybody?! I am still somewhat new to macs but I was curious about looking up my user accounts through terminal on my macbook pro late 2011, Snow Leopard 10.6.8. I checked out a couple of forums and tried out this command line in terminal: dscl . list /Users | grep -v "^_". after I typed it in my four main user accounts popped up plus a "root", a "daemon" and a "nobody". What are the "root", the "daemon" and the "nobody" accounts? Why is there even a "nobody" account? Is this a hacker created hidden account? Thanks everyone.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

root and daemon are part of the Unix underpinnings of OSX. Root is the super user account that has full access to the system and daemon is a unix process.

wiki

3. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

Although I can't answer your question I will say it's not a hacker, it's never a hacker. Hackers randomly attacking peoples computers is Hollywood BS.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Maflynn!

4. astojazz1 thread starter macrumors newbie

5. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

6. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Wiki
    A quick search brings me this info

7. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

Sounds like you need something like the shareware Little Snitch to keep an eye on outgoing data.

8. goMac macrumors 603

No they don't. Sounds like everything is just fine. Nothing was hacked. All those accounts are normal and are on a brand new Mac.

9. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

No disrespect, but if you are "somewhat new on macs" then if you start messing around with terminal commands whilst you clearly don't know what you are doing and are so suspicious as to imagine the first thing you don't understand is a hacker, you are likely to damage something, possibly irretrievably.