Hacking 10.6 to run "restricted" software?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by CrashX, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. CrashX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #1
    Given I'm obviously stuck with Snow Leopard - is there any way to run a hack of some sort to be able to run software that "requires" one of the bloatware X's Apple started giving out for free?

    I'm cool with whatever dumb "features" the bloatware X's offer NOT running properly on 10.6, but hoping there's some kind of toggle hack to trick the apps into running?

    I would REALLY like to run CodeKit specifically - I've installed the Sublime LESS preprocessor, but I don't think it flags errors like CodeKit.

    Thanks for any help or advice.

    Or can someone just strip all of the kill/bloat junk out of Mavericks for us po folk? I don't even know what the new "features" do - I just know my friendgirl is forced to run one of them on her 2011 13" MBP, and I'm constantly having to run Onyx to get her system back to a responsive state - and all she does is open too many tabs in Safari, writes in TextEdit, and leaves too many files on her desktop.

    What's up with Apple these days? Can't they at least pretend to care about all of us who have been using their products before they hit the "big time" with the iDevices?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Not really, because software that requires a newer version of OSX does so because it was compiled for that OS, it relies on APIs and frameworks that exist in the newer OS and not the older OS. Basically most apps if states it requires Mavericks or Mountain Lion, will not work at all under Snow Leopard no matter what.
     
  3. SlCKB0Y macrumors 68040

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    Mavericks isn't even close to being bloatware.
     
  4. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Exactly!
    If you still have the mid/late 2007, 2.2 GHz Macbook Pro that you have mentioned in your other threads, you can upgrade to Mavericks, too!

    You would surely want to max out your RAM to 6 GB, and make sure that your hard drive/SSD is in good working order.
    But, Mavericks is certainly do-able (and a better choice than Lion or even Mountain Lion on your MBPro.
    Then, there's another choice: Swap your hard drive into the optical drive slot, leaving that drive as it is with Snow Leopard, and add an SSD in the former hard drive slot, running Mavericks on the SSD. That would leave you with the choice of either system, whenever you need to use software that doesn't run on the other system, just re-boot to what you need (it's a Good Thing™, don't you think?). It's the best of both worlds…!
     

Share This Page