Hacking the integrated graphics...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GMacDaddyTPO, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. GMacDaddyTPO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    Alright, so I know on the windows side, the Intel graphics will use over 200 megs for the graphics. Is there a way to force the graphics on OS X to use more of the main memory for graphics? Because 64MB just will not cut it for...well...anything...lol.

    Anyone?
     
  2. iCheddar macrumors 6502a

    iCheddar

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #2
    What are you doing on a Macbook that you need more than 64MBs for Vram?

    How do you get off saying 64 megs isn't worth anything? You can run FCP and Photoshop on that.

    If its below your needs you made that mistake in buying a Macbook as opposed to a MBP
     
  3. GMacDaddyTPO thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #3
    The 64MBs wooorkks...it's just that some of the RTS games that I play from time to time would run a whole lot better if I was able to take better advantage of the 2GB of RAm that I have.

    I'm not complaining, I absolutely love this machine. Just wondering if this was at all possible.
     
  4. Zel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #4
    hackers run linux
    crackers run windows

    USERS USE osx

    sorry :)
     
  5. Optimouse^^ macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #5
    What constructive posting!:mad:

    Still, the original question, no matter how poorly written, is interesting. **IF** it is true that m$Win can use more memory than 64MB, then why doesn't OSX?

    Has anyone come across a method to force OSX to use more system memory for the on-board GPU (Intel GMA 950)?

    I find that the GPU works well for my applications, but I do not understand why Windowz would address more sys mem than OSX.
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    I haven't seen anyone crack that problem yet, maybe Leopard will come with a solution. It was probably put into place when Apple was selling 512MB machines. Doesn't sit too well having half the mem used up by the GPU.
     

Share This Page