Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

justanotherspider

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 3, 2018
Hi,

I am an iOS developer and I work on large scale Swift projects (> 500,000 LOC). I currently have a 2012 Mac mini based CI setup for preparing and submitting builds, but it is terribly slow and builds take hours (about 10 times slower than my touchbar MBP).

I can't find any Macs offered by Apple at the moment that I feel like upgrading to. Sure the Mac Pro/iMac Pro are fast, but since I will be using these machines as headless servers, I won't be using most of their features. So their cost isn't justified.

What I'm looking for is a headless code compiling machine with a super fast CPU (4-8 cores), 16-32 GB RAM and a SSD (basic SSDs are fine). The machines will not be doing any graphics intensive work and I'm fine with integrated GPUs. The will be running 24x7. Again, the focus is on raw compute power.

As far as my budget is concerned, I'm looking for something cheaper than the current Mac minis. Can anyone recommend me parts for such a machine?

Thank you

Alaska_guy

macrumors regular
Mar 30, 2018
I would direct you in the same direction as the other poster above asking about a server. Check out a HP DL360 or DL380 in the gen7 series or some other manufacturer equivalent. Most large companies are on UCS hardware or some other blade type technology and are retiring/phasing out their old hardware for bottom dollar. You can get those for $200-$600 dollars depending on the options. That should fit your budget.

If you get lucky and can get a G8 you will get a much better processor/memory etc. However, they are usually pretty expensive.