Had to reinstall Tiger, needing some help iPod can't connect to iTunes error

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Joshh1, May 19, 2008.

  1. Joshh1 macrumors regular

    Joshh1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Michigan.
    #1
    Haven't jailbroken or anything, just reinstalled tiger on my mac (had some weird problems )

    put all my music I had backed up into itunes and now I plug my ipod into my mac and get a error:

    "iTunes can't connect to the iPod because of an unknown error (0Ee8000001)"

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance guys.
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Have you updated Tiger, Quicktime, and iTunes?
     
  3. Joshh1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshh1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Michigan.
    #3
    Yep.

    10.4.11 Newest iTunes and quicktime.


    Guess I should've put that in the first post eh? :eek:
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    You might need to sign into iTunes?

    Perhaps try to restore iPod on your computer or another computer.

    Otherwise it's under warranty, contact Apple Care.
     
  5. Joshh1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshh1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Michigan.
    #5
    I'm signed into iTunes, I don't have any restore points (fresh install) and I have 1.1.4 with Software update, would this be removed if I restored?
     
  6. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #6
    Have you tried to reinstall itunes by downloading it from the apple website then restarting your computer.
     
  7. Joshh1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshh1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Michigan.
    #7
    No I haven't.

    I will try that in a little bit and report back.
     
  8. Joshh1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshh1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Michigan.
  9. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #9
    Oh dear. Have you also tried using a different usb port or as 'Consultant' stated a different computer.
     
  10. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #10
    I have read elsewhere that it could be USB related where the port being used is not producing enough power for the device. Unplug all USB devices (apart from keyboard/mouse) then try and connect it again.
     
  11. Joshh1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshh1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Michigan.
    #11
    Well all I have is my mothers PC and my G4 ( USB 1.1 but I've never had this problem before:rolleyes:)

    I'll have to throw SP2 on the PC and then get itunes and try it.
     
  12. Joshh1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joshh1

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Northern Michigan.
    #12
    I tried the other USB port and it worked! :D

    Thanks a ton Chas, I didn't even think about that haha.
     
  13. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN

Share This Page