hal.dll missing and using Expired Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by caliguy82, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. caliguy82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #1
    So, I was removing some programs in Windows and I restarted after downloading some updates. I get the infamous hal.dll is missing or corrupt, please reinstall this file.

    My problem is that I installed Windows XP using Bootcamp before it expired. Now that it is expired, I can no longer hold Option and get back into Mac.

    Ive tried searching for answers and pressing many different keys on startup, as well as inserting my Windows XP disc and so far, I am stuck with this error coming up every time.

    I can't get back to getting Mac OSX to load (I have tiger) nor can I get Windows to load.

    My computer is dead in the water. Any solutions?
     
  2. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #2
    Try searching around for posts that mention turning your system clock back to i think it was october 2007 ( ish ) not sure how it works as i have leopard but i know their are some somewhere about this ( this is for those who have tiger with bootcamp that has expired & want to reinstall windows )

    Use the search feature in my sig its allot better than the search function at the top of the forum pages ( their are some posts that mention that error try looking for those also )
     
  3. caliguy82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #3
    Thank you Neil,

    I did see those posts as well. My problem is that I physically cant do anyting when my computer brings up that error. Because its an Intel Mac, I cant get into Dos (as far as I know) nor a UNIX prompt. Physically my computer is acting as it is frozen, so I dont know how I could even get somewhere to update the system time.

    Im pretty sure if I could either A) Boot into Tiger and wipe the partition, or B) boot off of the windows XP disc and reinstall windows, I would be fine.
     
  4. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #4
    Hi again yep sorry bout that just reread your post, i dunno then ive just tried reading through aload of missing hal.dll error posts and as far as i can tell you have a unique problem, you say you cant do anything when your Mac brings up that error & you have tried many keys to get back into tiger,id suggest taken it into a Apple store & see what they have to say about it

    If it wont boot into either OS at startup then their maybe a underling problem

    If you do have to take it back in please post back the results as it maybe of use to others

    You may also use this as a excuse to upgrade to its big bruv leopard :) or wait it out to snow leopard appears

    The only other thing i can think of is to somehow get into the recovery console in windows but again its getting past that error

    Neil
     
  5. caliguy82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #5
    I actually figured out the main reason why I was stuck. For some reason, the latest firmware I have doesnt seem to recognize my Apple Aluminum keyboard until it boots. I took it to the Apple Genius Bar and he couldnt figure out how to get the boot option to come up until he used an older apple keyboard.

    Basically the computer isnt recognizing any of my commands when the HAL.DLL missing warning comes up.

    By using a different keyboard, i can hold OPTION at the gray screen and boot into OSX.



     
  6. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #6
    Glad to hear you got it sorted, but mentioning you used an external keyboard may have saved a trip to the Apple store, have fun
     
  7. caliguy82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #7
    Well, yeah, I have an Imac not a Mac Book. =)

    Im pretty sure theres no way around an external keyboard.

    I have an APPLE keyboard though, so its a weird problem with Apples software. My firmware is updated too.
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    Yer your right their isn't a way round it, its my fault as i should have asked from the start, reason being though i just found some notes id made about this problem from a few months back. At the moment i have a couple of MBP's but am waiting for all that snow leopard + Nehalem + Mac Pro = I'm gonna be cooking on gas
     

Share This Page