Hal on Mac OS X ????

Discussion in 'macOS' started by apoorvagajanan, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. apoorvagajanan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    Does Mac OS X provides support for Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL)...

    Its requirements are --

    ==========
    HAL 0.5.12
    ==========

    Released Month 00, 2008.

    Requirements for HAL 0.5.12:

    - Linux kernel >= 2.6.19
    - util-linux >= 2.12r1 (--enable-umount-helper requires patch
    from RH #188193; it's in util-linux-ng 2.13)
    - bash >= 2.0
    - udev >= 117 (Linux only)
    - dbus >= 0.61 (with glib bindings)
    - glib >= 2.10.0
    - expat >= 1.95.8
    - hal-info >= 20080310 (older versions can work too)
    - libusb >= 0.1.10a (optional)
    - pciutils >= 2.2.3 (optional)
    - dmidecode >= 2.7 (optional)
    - parted >= 1.7.1 (optional)
    - cryptsetup-luks >= 1.0.1 (optional, needs LUKS patches)
    - libsmbios >= 0.13.4 (optional, for DELL machines, Linux only,
    prefered version >= 2.0.3)
    - dellWirelessCtl >= 0.13.4 (optional, for Dell machines, must live in
    /usr/bin/, Linux only, prefered version >= 2.0.3)
    - gperf >= 3.0.3-2 (optional, for Re-map multimedia keys,
    Linux only)
    - PolicyKit >= 0.5 (optional)
    - ConsoleKit >= 0.2.0 (optional, needed if use PolicyKit)
    - pm-utils >= 0.99.2 or newer (optional)


    Can anyone please reply ??????
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The very first requirement is

    "- Linux kernel >= 2.6.19"

    So basically no. OSX has nothing to do with Linux so this should have been clear to you from the start.
     
  3. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #3
    Yes it does, but I'm not sure if it's the same one your using.
     
  4. Jisuo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  5. apoorvagajanan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #5
    Hal on Mac OS

    I am really confused...
    Someone says YES and the other says no....
    What exactly is the solution to the problem ???
     
  6. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #6
    Well to me it would stand to figure that the Linux kernel and the OS X Darwin kernel would be different. Different enough for it not to work? I think there might be only one way to see.
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    OSX has a HAL but not the same HAL as the one you showed (Linux).

    Daisy, Daisy...
     
  8. kzg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Hal

    Are you trying to compile or install some sort of software on the command line? Cause if you are it sounds like it is not compatible for OS X if its asking for the Linux HAL.
     
  9. 11800506 macrumors 65816

    11800506

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Washington D.C. Area
    #9
    Haha first thing I thought of too!
     
  10. apoorvagajanan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #10
    hal on Mac OS

    If hal is already there for Mac OS X ? Then how to keep the hal daemon running..? How to mount the devices using hal on /media ?
     
  11. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #12
    You don't. The Mac OS X HAL != Linux HAL and the Linux HAL cannot be compiled for Mac OS X (and vise-versa).
     

Share This Page