Half-Life 2 on a MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by djstarrock, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. djstarrock macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #1
    Hi, I'm wondering if HL2 would run on a MacBook 1GB.
     
  2. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    Run? Probably. Run well? Unlikely.

    The integrated video will require a substantial stepping down of the graphics setting, and 1GB RAM will not help your cause. Best thing you can do is upgrade to 2GB.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    I believe that there's a demo of HL2. Just give it a go :)
     
  4. djstarrock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #4
    So after about 3 hours I got to play the HL2 demo most of the settings are on high but nothing really happened so I don't know if it would still work in high if there was more action.
     
  5. ProstheticHead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    There's a couple videos of people playing various games on their Macbooks on Youtube. Just do a search for like Half Life 2 macbook or something of the sort. The videos don't really show them doing anything too graphic intensive, but it looks pretty nonetheless! :D
     
  6. djstarrock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #6
    I just found out that Half-Life 2 Deathmatch or Half-Life 2 Episode One doesn't work in BootCamp on my MacBook.
     
  7. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #7
    Really? How come? :confused:

    Works fine on mine.
     
  8. djstarrock thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djstarrock

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK, Scotland, Glasgow
    #8
    I don't know when it gets to the menu some some part of white text at an angle comes up on a black background then if i click on some places I can here some noises then I can't do anything.
     

Share This Page