Half Life 2 Runs Like Butter on MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Octobot, Dec 20, 2007.

  1. Octobot macrumors regular

    Octobot

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    MPx12
    #1
    For those who are interested to know..

    After going through the lengthy install process of partitioning through Boot Camp, installing Windows, Nvidia Forceware Drivers and then The Orange Box.. I have to say it runs super smooth.

    Specs:
    MBP 2.6 / 4GB / 7200 RPM
    Windows XP, SP2 (20 GB Partition)
    NVidia ForceWare Driver 163.75 http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=15381

    Deliciously smooth..
     
  2. Twe Foju macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #2
    how about with MBP 2.4 GHz 4Gig Ram / 5400 RPM ?

    you think it can run as smooth as with the 2.6 ones ?

    cause i basically think that it shouldn't be a large difference between 2.4 and 2.6 and with 7200 rpm
     
  3. DaLurker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #3
    Most of the performance will be from the Video card and seeing that both of you probably have 256mb, should be fine.

    I'm going to try Half Life 2 now on my 2.2 with 128mb. I'll report back later with results.

    PS. What sort of resolution and quality are you running?
     
  4. Stopsignguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    Why are you people worrying about running Half-Life 2 on a new system? Half- Life 2 came out in 2004, so running a 3 year old game on a new computer should not be a problem.

    I have a 2.2Ghz MBP stock, and I am able to run HL2 at full native (1440X900) resolution and everything on high with relatively steady FPS; usually between a low of around 35 to a high of 60 (its probably capped). However, I think performance will have something to do with your driver version, because when I initially installed HL I don't believe I had as good FPS. I can even play Call of Duty 4 smoothly at 1400X900 on a mix of highs and mediums, and even Gears of War with everything High.

    So as long as you stay up to date, you should not have problems playing HL2 or most recent games released.
     
  5. Twe Foju macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #5
    im installing Orange Box right now

    ill report back aswell

    i assume we are all using all High settings? :D
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Half Life 2 runs like butter on the GMA X3100. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Brianstorm91 macrumors 65816

    Brianstorm91

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
  8. Twe Foju macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #8
    so you think Assasin's Creed gonna runs as smooth as COD4? :D

    cause i fear not, okay, we're talking about HL2 which are around 2-3 years old

    but Assasin;s creed are on a different level IMO :D

    though i cant say much yet as the game itself is not released for PC yet
     
  9. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #9
    Does it or are you making a joke?
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    It's not a joke.
     
  11. Octobot thread starter macrumors regular

    Octobot

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    MPx12
    #11
    to Stopsignguy: Not worried.. just impressed. I realized it ain't Crysis, though I was still pleasantly surprised.

    Half-life, although it does have pretty good gfx, still is largely billed as an excellent game because of its story-line and gameplay.

    I've been wanting to play HL2 ever since I went Mac.. Last time I played was HL1 on a PC eight, nine years ago. Back then I didn't have a top of the line computer, hence some extra joy to see it run so smooth now.

    On a side note.. I realized that there are real similarities between the "power suit" you wear in Crysis and HL2.. anyways..

    HL2's Gravity gun is a blast btw.. :D

    Ya my setting are all at full.
    Maybe flies like butter? ;)
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    I think someone got there a tad bit earlier.

    [​IMG]

    Half Life 2 scales well when you have at least DirectX 9 capable hardware.​
     
  13. Stopsignguy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #13
    I actually installed the demo version of Crysis on my 2.2 MBP and was able to run mostly Medium (with some High, such as texture) at 1280X800 with pretty good frame rates, that usually ranged between 18 or so at its lowest to around 20-30ish. Keep in mine this is a stock 2.2Ghz, 2GB Ram, 128Mb 8600Gt, 120GB 5400RPM HD, which is pretty surprising.

    I think it all comes down to how well the developer optimizes the game. Look at Gears of War, which looks much better than how Crysis looks for me (at my settings) in addition to running consistently smooth (20+ atleast).

    I did not know that Assassin's Creed was coming out for PC though....I wonder how that will do.

    I have a lot of recent games, so if any wants to know how they run, please feel free to ask.
     
  14. Twe Foju macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #14
    according to wiki, the PC ver for Assasin's Creed should be out on 15 Feb 2008

    still a long time

    but i feel the Penryn Processor should be able to play the game smoothly
     
  15. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #15
    HL2 ran very well on my old 1.2 ghz Athlon's onboard graphics card. That machine had 512 mb of RAM. I would hope it does well on dual 2.6 core 2 with all of that RAM and ANY modern graphics card.

    and to the guy speculating that it might be capped at 60fps, that's Doom 3, not HL2. My main machine runs HL2 over 150 fps in most places...
     
  16. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #16
    lol not the way I like to run it.

    1900x1200 4x FSAA 16x AA Max Detail <3
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    I'm sure the majority of users run it that way.
     
  18. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #18
    Okay, wonderful, thanks. Do you play over Vista or XP? How much RAM do you have?
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #19
    XP and 2 GB of RAM.
     
  20. Bad Cyborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    #20
    Have you tried this? You should.
     
  21. David G. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Alaska
    #21
    Look here for the meaning.
     
  22. theman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #22
    I have a stock 2.2ghz, 2gb ram, 8600Mgt 128mb, 5400rpm hdd.

    Just played through HL2 Ep2 at 1440x900 all settings on high (not "Very High") with 2xAA and 2xAF and it ran perfectly. Loading times were a bit long though, probably because of the HDD. Make sure to turn on Vertical Sync. If not, you can get some tearing. The graphics in that game a pretty incredible...
     

Share This Page