half life ep 2 - best settings for MacPro? help please..

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by charlestrippy, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. charlestrippy macrumors 6502

    charlestrippy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #1
    hey guys - all right so i'm trying to get Ep2 working on my MacPro but when I play it - well it's crappy - and "jerky"

    it's weird because i thought it would fly on this computer -

    here are my specs:

    2x2.66 dual core intel xeon
    5 gb 667 mhz ddr2 ram (what's REALLY weird is that vista only reads 2gb of this ram??? any one know of this?)
    23" HD Cinema display

    anyway, what settings do you think would look/run the best on this?
     
  2. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #2

    What video card do you have? I can play the game on max everything with AA x6 turned on without any bit of slow down on max screen resolution (1680X1050).

    If you have the 7300 you will definitely have to lower the settings. The X1900XT should handle everything just fine.

    EDIT: Vista 32 bit will only register up to 2 GB of ram. If you want it to notice and use more ram you need the 64 bit version.
     
  3. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    With the X1900XT you should pretty much be able to run it with full graphics settings and get a good (not perfect but good) framerate. Dunno about the 7300GT. The graphics card is the most crucial bit of information that you left out. :confused: ;)
     
  4. charlestrippy thread starter macrumors 6502

    charlestrippy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #4
    oh no - i do think i have the 7300 gt :(

    i thought it would be still a great card for hl - i guess its not?
     
  5. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Houston
  6. charlestrippy thread starter macrumors 6502

    charlestrippy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #6


    does anyone know where to buy an upgrade on the video card?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    Apple or flash one.
     
  8. PMR macrumors 6502

    PMR

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Portugal (Google it)
    #8
    Sorry to ask, but you have a quad mac pro and "think"you have a 7300GT? What do you want the computer for? Email, word and porn?? sorry but I would accept that lack of knowledge only if you had at least 50yo and/or an imac/macbook, not a mac pro and a mbp.

    On topic - maybe medium/low without AA and AF at native res. And you're lucky because it's valve's engine.
     
  9. charlestrippy thread starter macrumors 6502

    charlestrippy

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #9

    pmr - i think you were trying to insult me but your sentence structure was terrible - i didn't even understand lol :)


    thanks - why am i lucky it's valves engine? i know this...
     
  10. triobot macrumors member

    triobot

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    #10
    D.I.Y. i don't believe many people have a mac pro.

    but a clear suggestion from me is to run stress tests. An easy benchmark to start from...
     

Share This Page