Halo Mac Intel (Universal Binary) - Problem

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Adam552, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. Adam552 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK.
    #1
    Hello,
    I have recently got the Universal Binary for Halo... it just starts up then when I go on a game the graphics are so bad I can't even see rocks! I'm using a New Macbook (The £699 one). I have set it on Pixel & Vertex Shaders.


    GMA X3100
     
  2. Accylad macrumors member

    Accylad

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Accrington
    #2
    Weird I have an ibook G4 and it rocks!!! Sounds strange though, Macbook should run it fine. Are there any updates for the game?
     
  3. Adam552 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK.
    #3
    Yer it worked really well on my iBook G4.. I sold that now and my Macbook one has really bad graphics.
     
  4. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Do you have the Santa Rosa one, i.e. the one with the Intel GMA X3100?

    IIRC, old PowerBooks have discreet ATI graphics. While MacBooks all rely on Intel integrated graphics, so performance will take a hit.
     
  5. twistedlegato macrumors 65816

    twistedlegato

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #5
    When i had Halo i could see rocks on my Macbook. But after i updated to the UB 2.0, all the rocks were gone.
     
  6. Adam552 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK.
    #6
    I got the one which you can buy in the Apple Store at the moment.
     
  7. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
  8. Adam552 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK.
  9. SeVeN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose
    #9
    so is this game any good? i mean, you can play online right? does it compare to the xbox version
     
  10. Adam552 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK.
    #10
    Yes it is good. You can play online.. and it's normally good but we are trying to save this problem in this topic.
     
  11. SeVeN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose
    #11
    so is it keyboard controlled or is there a controller that I could use. I have never played a game on pc or mac. So sorry about the dumb questions.
     
  12. Adam552 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK.
    #12
    why not ask this in another topic *hint*
     
  13. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #13
    Bare Feats benchmarked

    MacBook 2.2
    Halo UB, 800x600 Medium Quality
    at 33 frames per second
    http://barefeats.com/mbook2.html

    I am surprised it's that slow. If you really cared about games, you can get a refurb MBP for slightly more than top of the line MacBook...
     
  14. Whitesnake macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #14
    The problem is the X3100, The drivers are very poor and incomplete.

    I've tried several games which run on my friends older MacBook GMA950 and not on my MacBook X3100.

    The games will either crash at the start or run poorly with missing graphics.

    Unreal Tournament 2004
    Lego Star Wars
    Worms Blast
    Worms 3D
    Crazy Machines

    to name a handful.

    It is quite possibly the worst I've ever had from Apple regarding compatibility.

    Although it is a well known fact Windows users are having a lot of problems with the X3100 also.

    http://softwarecommunity.intel.com/isn/Community/en-US/forums/1/30229561/ShowThread.aspx
     

Share This Page