Halo Universal 2.0.2 Update Problem

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Robot Monkey, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. Robot Monkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #1
    Right after I updated my Halo Universal CE, I couldn't see the rocks, they were invisible. And sometimes, other sceneries disappeared too but you could still walk into them like a solid object. How can I fix this?
     
  2. FizzZ* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #2
    i have the same problem

    i have the same problem, rocks disappear and everything close to me or around me goes white and i cant see .. i asked players online and they said its my graphics card its old for this version... but i dont know what graphic card to update... if anyone knows please tell us, i dont want to buy anything if there is an update to fix my problem please tell me step by step how to update starting from downloading the update to my computer. thanks :)
     
  3. Tragedies macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    When I updated, I put my serial in, but it said in was invalid o_O Yes, it's my (and mine only) copy. I wanted to play badly, but now I gotta contact MacSoft :(

    Weird situation you have, too.
     
  4. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #4
    I have this issue as well. I dug around and finally found my serial number, and then it said it was invalid...wtf
     
  5. Sweep'n Streets macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    #5
    Try holding down the Command key while opening Halo. When the options come up, at the top select 'Vertex Shaders only'.

    Any better?
     
  6. FizzZ* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #6
    now can someone tell us about the graphics problem? why are we getting white around us and items disaapearing?
     
  7. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #7
    Yea the exact same thing happens to me, except I am not prompted for my CD Key and it does not reject me :) As far as the update goes, I'm pretty sure it has to do with the actual update, NOT the graphics card (I have a Macbook w/Intel GMA X3100, which blows lol). If any1 has a solution to this or has contacted Macsoft and got a solution, please post it!!
     
  8. FizzZ* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #8
    i am in the process of contacting the company and i am getting emails, i will let you know when they find a solution for me/us .. one thing they told me, if your graphics dont work try this first,

    try holding down the Command key when you open Halo
    and when the configuration screen comes up, at the top of that window
    choose "Vertex Shaders only" and then try the game.


    this is one step for me that sort of helped, the graphics are a bit better, but still im getting some poor performance, i copy and pasted them my video/graphics card info and i will wait and see what they say. :)



    P.S i dont think it has to do with the update, i have updated to 2.0.3 and its all the same. a year ago i bought the 2.0.2 version from the company it self in USA and i had the same thing going on here now.
     
  9. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #9
    Aight nice dude...but i hafta disagree w/ur saying that it doesnt hafta do w/the update, cuz i had v.2.0 for a while, then found out that there was v.2.02. I downloaded that and installed it, and my graphics sucked, just like w/v. 2.03. So I reinstalled halo and didnt install the v.2.2 patch cuz my graphics were terrible wen i did. But now that the PC side updated to v.1.08, i cant play w/any1 any more, so i was forced to update it. And I did try messin around w/the graphics settings a little, but nothin seemed to help, but like u said w/just vertex shaders, I could c objects, but they were in very poor quality. I'm tryin to find a phone # to call at the moment, so I'll give every1 an update (no pun intended :)
     
  10. FizzZ* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #10
    yes i agree with you, because every new version they add more to it, to the point where your graphics cant handel it, so then you need to update. you can find contacts on macsoftgames.com, im from newzealand it will cost me heaps to call them so i just emailed them.
     
  11. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #11
    Yea well I tried calling them, but i called 12 min too late lol...cuz they close at 6 pm...goddammit
     
  12. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
  13. NSWMaps macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #13
    Mine still works. This is strange. Not much changed between 2.0.3 and 2.0.2
     
  14. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #14
    What graphics cards do people have? Cuz I have integrated graphics (yea i no they suck), but idk if ppl w/ATI and NVIDIA graphics have the same issues...
     
  15. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #15
    I don't have Halo installed on my MacBook, so I can't say how it would play on there, but there are no graphical issues at all on my Mac Pro w/8800 GT.
     
  16. Lucky736 macrumors 6502a

    Lucky736

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Location:
    US
    #16
    Mine stopped working. Legit copy of it, real serial. As soon as I went to 2.0.3 no dice. You've got to be kidding. Anyone have any luck getting it resolved?
     
  17. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #17
    No, I meant exactly what I said. Halo is not installed on my MacBook (which is NOT a Pro) w/the GMA 950, and it is installed on my Mac Pro w/8800 GT, which is currently the fastest card available under OS X, sans the Quadro FX 5600 or some of the cards available to Hackintoshes. The MacBook Pro comes with the 8600 GT, which, while an alright card for its time, is easily outstripped by the 8800 GT in the Mac Pro.
     
  18. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #18
    I installed and updated and Halo runs just fine on my MBP :confused::confused:
     
  19. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #19
    OK my b...and yea the 8800 GT is a dope graphics card :)
     
  20. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #20
    Figured It Out!!!

    Ok so I think I figured out how to fix the graphics issue. I'll be nice and share it with people.

    1. Go to ur applications folder and find Halo
    2. Move it to the trash
    3. Go to ur Documents folder and find the Halo folder
    4. Move it to the trash
    5. Empty the trash
    6. Insert ur Halo CD and double click on it and select "Halo.pkg"
    7. Follow the instructions to install Halo
    8. BEFORE YOU DOWNLOAD THE 2.03 UPDATE, u need to go to ur applications folder and find Halo
    9. Right click on it and select "Show Package Contents" and open "Contents"
    10. COPY (do not move) the folder called "MacOS" in the "Contents" folder to ur desktop
    11. Go here: http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/games/demos_updates/halocombatevolved.html and download the 2.03 update
    12. Install the update
    13. Go to ur apps folder and find Halo and right click it and select "Show Package Contents"
    14. Now drag the MacOS folder thats on ur desktop into the "Contents" folder and click "replace"
    15. Open Halo and play with dope graphics!!!

    You won't hafta type in ur cd key because u didn't delete the Halo prefs that save ur CD Key

    I hope this helped...it worked for me...any questions feel free to email me @ tman444z@gmail.com
     
  21. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #21
    O and 1 more thing: make sure u have ur energy settings set to "Better Performance"
    If you don't know how to do this, just click ur battery on the menu bar and select "Better Performance"
     
  22. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #22
    Crapppp!! :(

    Well, that didn't fix the problem like I thought it would. You have better graphics, but u can only play w/other mac users, so there's only like 5 multiplayer games. But I do know what the source of the problem is: the "Halo" file in the "MacOS" folder. IDK how to fix it, but I bet some1 that is better at programming that I am could figure it out. Good Luck...
     
  23. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #23
    Well I got an email back from Macsoft, and according to them: "The problem you're having is due to buggy drivers for your video card. Hopefully a system update will address these issues, but at the time the only way to play Halo properly is to use vertex shaders only." I think this is bs because I could play the original Halo Universal 2.0 just fine, but when I applied the updates, the graphics started sucking.
     
  24. FizzZ* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #24
    hey dude... dont listen to thea bs i have contacted the same company and the same office but i know someone special who is helping me, what they are telling you is what they told me about 2 years ago about the shaders and stuff its not gona help, im in contact with one of thea supervisors and he is good he helps! last request from this guy was for me to send him some ss's from halo while i am playing it and thats what i did, i think the fact that i have an eMac g4 is one problem, or the video card needs to be upgraded if i wasnt wrong but i just gotta wait for him to tell me what to do, people who are here telling you they have no problems its because if you ask them to go to system preferences and copy paste it here you'll see that they have stronger systems.

    now me and you just gotta wait for the person im in contact with to tell me what i need to do, maybe in 2 or 3 days :)
     
  25. Lucky736 macrumors 6502a

    Lucky736

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Location:
    US

Share This Page