Halo

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Seth Mac Fan, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. Seth Mac Fan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #1
    How well do you think halo will run on a powermac g5 2ghz 1GB ram ? With a low end graphics card ? Is it decent for multiplayer and maybe a campaign every once and a while ?
     
  2. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #2
    I can tell you that it will run. But not on the best settings. Maybe Medium to Low settings.

    Here are the system requirements:
    Mac OS X version 10.2.8 (10.3 or higher recommended)
    800MHz PowerPC G4 processor (1GHz or higher recommended)
    256MB of RAM (512MB recommended)
    32MB AGP Video Card; GeForce 2MX/ATI 7000 or better (64MB AGP Video Card; GeForce 4ti-ATI 9000 or better recommended).
    1.4GB hard disk space
    Internet or LAN connection required for online play
     
  3. iMacFarlane macrumors 65816

    iMacFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Adrift in a sea of possibilities
    #3
    Not for the OP but for anyone else who's reading, requirements are actually Mac OS X version 10.2.8 through 10.6.8. I have it and it was unceremoniously fragged by Lion.
     
  4. JaHull macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #4
    I would expect you should be able to play on Medium/High settings since my old PowerBook G4 17" with a 1.5GHz G4, ATI 9700 Pro, 2GB RAM could run on those settings at native 1440x900.
    The lowest graphics card for the G5 was a Nvidia 5200 Ultra which is more powerful than the card in my laptop so I think you should be fine, although I was running OSX 10.3 and 10.4 at the time and 10.5 is a bit more resource hungry than them but you should be fine.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    I used to play it on a Radeon 9000 and didn't have any problems (1.25 GHz G4). It may not have been flawless and I can't tell you whether I had it on the best settings, but it certainly didn't stop me from enjoying the game.
     
  6. alexreich macrumors 6502a

    alexreich

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #6
    The Universal Binary works fine in Lion. If you have your original license, for $5 you can download the Universal Binary version of the game from macgamefiles.com. Just supply your license during checkout and you get the Intel-friendly version of the game.

    Here's the site.

    http://www.macgamestore.com/detail.php?ProductID=616
     
  7. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #7
    I can also say that it works fine in Mountain Lion. Out of interest from this thread, I decided to reinstall and play it again. Runs nice!
     
  8. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #8
    Yup works in Lion and Mtn Lion. It will play fine with medium settings on a powermac g5, obviously the higher the graphics card, the better. You might be able to get away with all the settings on high with a decent gfx card. Should be able to pick one up for like $40 on ebay
     

Share This Page