Handbrake 8 Core - Multiple instances How?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slackpacker, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. slackpacker macrumors 6502a

    slackpacker

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Location:
    An Island off the East coast of the USA
    #1
    Hi

    I see all this info about using multiple instances to increase Handbrake rendering performance. But there is no info on How to implement it or how its done. I want to increase the CPU usage when Rendering 1(ONE) DVD.

    #1 HOW to open the 2 instances of Handbrake?

    #2 How is it supposed to be used?


    Thanks
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    1.) Just make a copy of the application with a different name, e.g. "Handbrake 1" and "Handbrake 2"

    2.) This method is for running multiple encodes at once rather than speeding up a single encode.
     
  3. slackpacker thread starter macrumors 6502a

    slackpacker

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Location:
    An Island off the East coast of the USA
    #3

    Simple enough thanks
     
  4. bilbo--baggins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    It seems that Handbrake is multithreaded, so it will use all cores effectively, I've seen it using over 600% The main problem is de=interlacing which apparently isn't multithreaded, so this part is done by just 1 core, and is the limiting factor. Anything that doesn't need de-interlacing is incredibly fast.
     
  5. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #5
    OK, I know this thread is *OLD*, but it still holds true with 0.9.6.

    If you're doing any kind of decombing/deinterlacing, that will slow things waaaaay down.

    The cure, unfortunately, is to open another instance of Handbrake if you have a long queue of encodes to do. If it's just one video....you're stuck with less cores being used.

    On an 8-core 2.8GHz 2008 mac pro, converting a 1080p mkv to a 720p mkv with decombing was only using 272%. Started another instance of the app to do another encode, and now they're both using ~300% each. Hooray!
     
  6. Boomhowler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #6
    That sounds strange, I guess it should be some other bottleneck you are providing a work around for than the software. When I am using handbrake for converting (for example) 1080p videos to 720p it always uses ~750% of the processing power available (on an 8core, 3,1).

    What kind of drives are you using?
     
  7. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #7
    Normal encoding is multi-threaded. The problem is that filters such as decomb are not, as mentioned already.
     

Share This Page