Handbrake crashing while scanning source

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Caralvarez24, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. Caralvarez24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    #1
    I have been ripping movies to my HD using RipItApp. If you have used this before you know it rips the entire movie including menus and extras. The problem is each file is between 6-8Gbs big. I have started using Handbrake to rip just the video_ts folders so I can trim the size of each file significantly. So far I have about 12 titles. 7 of them have been converted by Handbrake to ipod format with no issues. That last 5 make Handbrake crash. It says "scanning the source" then I get a beachball for a second and then it crashes. It happens with each one the same way. Any ideas as to what is occurring here? Thank you for any help you can provide.
     
  2. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #2
    Ripitapp produces a .dvdmedia file, which is actually a folder. Try deleting the .dvdmedia extension and it will then appear as a normal folder containing the video_ts folder the same as if you ripped with Handbrake.

    Handbrake needs VLC to be installed in order to rip protected DVDs, not sure if this is your issue, but in any case Ripitapp is usable for your purposes if you just use the tip above.
     
  3. Caralvarez24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    #3
    Well I don't think that is the problem because I use command+click and then choose "show file contents" and it brings up the video_ts folder which I then use as the source. Like I said it is only certain movies. Off the top of my head I know The Bourne Supremacy (and Ultimatum) , Casino Royale and others are having issues. Also RipItApp does take care of all the copyright stuff as far as I know. Maybe it does miss something?
     
  4. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    You can select the Video_TS folder on an encrypted DVD, the content is just garbage until decrypted. If you're having Handbrake problems even with VLC installed, then I would use Ripitapp to rip the DVD and then use Handbrake for the encoding to iPod format.
     
  5. wizzracer macrumors 6502

    wizzracer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #5
    Ripped all these titles with DVD Decryter and used Handbrake, with no problems. The only one that gave me problems was whitecastle.

    If you still have problems with handbrake, You can use DVD Copy 6 if you have bootcamp installed. Its a windows only application.
     
  6. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #6
    What you need to do is specify the title number to start with. Use File -> Open Source (Title Specific) and enter a number (default is 0). It'll probably still crash, but if it does, try again with the next number. Eventually you'll get one that doesn't crash Handbrake. Some DVD rips have 20 or 30 titles so it's a pain, but easier than re-ripping.
     
  7. Caralvarez24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    #7
    I downloaded the VLC player. Do I need to have it running for Handbrake to use it or what? I have never used vlc before.
     
  8. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #8
    No need to run it as far as I remember, Handbrake uses it in the background to do the decryption
     
  9. Wobber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #9
    Solution!

    @Plinden: THANK YOU. That did the trick for me. Had excately the same issue...
     
  10. METROPINk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    the 'Nati
    #10
    Use this method, but first play it using your computer's DVD software and find in your menu where it shows you what Chapter and Title is playing when the actual movie content is playing. This will be the number you type in. Worked for me 1st time (I didn't have to try all 99 titles!!)
     

Share This Page