Handbrake creates pixallated video

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Kashika, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. Kashika macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #1
    I ripped an episode from a TV series I own on DVD. Wanting to back it up in good quality MKV files using handbrake. However when the file is done, I get a pixellated image. The video quality looks like the entire screen was made our of moving cubicles.

    Everything appears to be good, even though it's unwatchable at the moment.

    I rippid it to PAL framerate settings settings, togetter with the RF being 20 (constant quality). I didn't do anything weird, the resolution was normal and I left most settings as they were.

    The version of handbrake I use is 64 bits, as is VLC in which I play the files.
    Can anyone offer me help regarding this?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What preset did you use?
    Can you use VideoSpec (I prefer that, though it hasn't been updated since 11/2009), MediaInfo Mac (10/2010) or MediaInfo (4/2011, there is a Mac OS X version to download, VideoSpec and MediaInfo Mac are using the same library as MediaInfo) to analyse the resulting .mkv and post the report here?
     
  3. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #3
    An activity log from the offending rip would be almost invaluable in this situation. Copy and paste it onto a site like pastebin.com and put the link here so we can see exactly what you did.

    Edit: since we do not know your platform if your on windows you have to decrypt the dvd first with another player, otherwise on mac :

    If i didn't know better I'd say you have an issue with your vlc and hb is not using vlc's libdvdcss to remove the css. With a constant quality of 20 it would be hard to imagine a dvd being that pixellated as you describe.

    Without the log almost impossible to tell.

    Go down to your platform under Activity Log here:

    https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/HandBrakeGuide to get instructions if your not sure where it is.
     
  4. Kashika, Jun 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2011

    Kashika thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #4
    I am on OSX. I have the 2011 model of 15 inch macbook pro.

    Mediainfo was incredibly slow. I could not get any log file to work.

    Edit: I cannot upload my txt files as attachments because they are too large. I can however try to copy paste all of the text in a separate post.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Then try VideoSpec for the analysation. How big is the file withe the pixelation and how long is the video inside it?
    Have you tried transcoding it again via a normal Handbrake preset?
     
  6. Kashika thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #6
    The file is 5 GB for a 40 minute episode. I have not tried setting that file up in Handbrake again. How would you mean I do that?
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    5GB for 40 minutes sounds a bit large, it should be less than 500MB for that length.

    To re-transcode the video, do it like you did the first time, via inserting the video DVD into the DVD drive and starting Handbrake again and choosing the Apple TV (2) preset.

     

Share This Page