Handbrake Encoding Times?...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by smilinmonki666, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. smilinmonki666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    Ok, this is a hardware thread more but is for apps, so I'm sorry if its in the wrong section.

    I have HandBrake on my PC & my Dads iMac, the iMac is faster due to the obvious horse power (2.16Ghz Dual Core/ 1Gb RAM), the PC is only a 1.8Ghz CPU/ 2Gb RAM. I was wondering if anyone had a higher spec machine?

    My main query is if anyone has a MacPro with 2x 3.2Ghz Quad Core CPU & high spec RAM?? Just wondering what there wait times are on a HQ encoding on a film?

    Otherwise, what is your endcoding times & on what settings???

    My settings are as follows:

    .m4v file format
    64 Bit MP4
    AVC/ H.624 Video/ AAC + AC3 Audio Codecs
    SAS FPS
    x264 Encoder
    4000Kbps Avg bitrate
    2-Pass encoding (No Turbo Pass)
    Track 1 - AC3 5.1 (Mix of Dolby Pro Logic II + AC3)
    160Kbps
    48Khz Sample Rate
    Chapters Named
     
  2. smokerz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2

    same settings as your except video bit rate is 2500 yielding 3000 kbps

    2 hour movie about 40 minutes. Mac Pro
     
  3. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #3
    on my octo 3.2, HB encodes a DVD rip at about 160 fps average with AAC/AC3 and :apple:TV presets. So encoding times vary depending on length of source but roughly 1/5 the time it takes to watch the movie. My 2.8 iMac runs about 35 fps for comparison which makes sense since it has 1/4 the cores of the MP.
     
  4. smilinmonki666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #4
    Cool, what spec MacPro do you have if you don't mind me asking?
     
  5. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
  6. wayland1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #6
    Wait... so yours will encode a 2 hour movie at 40 minutes?

    Mine, for the iPhone settings, takes 8 hours! I wonder how a macbook pro will do!
     
  7. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #7
    I ripped a 2 hour movie yesterday in i think 3 hours...

    Normal Preset
    .mp4 (h264)
    1500Kbps target
    2 pass encoding

    It use to take right about 2x real time for that setting, now it is only 1.5x real time, i guess those x264 speed improvements really do something.
     
  8. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #8
    2hr movie, iPod hi res settings:

    1.2GHz iBook = 12 - 13 hours.

    2.16GHz iMac = ~2 hours.

    2.8GHz Harpertown Mac Pro = ~30mins

    I love being able to use an octomac at work, reckon by the end of the year my whole collection will be digitised.
     
  9. smilinmonki666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #9
    I've now changed my settings, back down to 3500Kbps/ Turbo 1st Pass & de-selected 64bit MP4. Its now working faster without loss of quality.

    I would love to get a MacPro just for this reason, but its not enough to warrant the £3000-£4000 pounds just for photography/ DVD-.m4v conversions & low key work???

    Oh well, if I won the lottery??
     
  10. Andrman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    #10
    Wow! I just started my first Handbrake encode and it's going at about 1.2-1.4 fps. This is on a 1.25ghz PowerBook w/ 1.5 gb RAM on 10.4.11. Is mine so much slower just because of my system, or do I have some settings way out of whack?

    I'm just using the normal AppleTV preset. I used MactheRipper to rip the VIDEO_TS and now am using Handbrake to encode to m4v. Is this the right process flow or can Handbrake take directly from the disc?
     
  11. smilinmonki666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #11
    Handbrake can rip the disc, but I would recommend using Mac The Ripper for ripping the DVD's.
     
  12. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #12
    sounds about right. G4 is turtle slow for encoding.
     

Share This Page