Handbrake for days

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by thekb, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. thekb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #1
    If I set Handbrake to encode 10 BluRay movies and my MBP runs flat out for 3 days (older computer), can I damage the computer?
     
  2. Cobra611 macrumors regular

    Cobra611

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    #2
    I can't see that being an issue. Before I got my 27" iMac, I was using a 4 year old HP a few years ago. I literally ran that computer for a few months straight, running Handbrake and encoding hundreds of movies. It ran unbearably slow, averaging less than 2 fps.
     
  3. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #4
    I'd say there was a distinct possibility of overheating. One encode on my MacBook Pro has the fans screaming.
     
  4. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #5
    I encode on an old tower that has a quad-core CPU (no hyper-threading) and use 2 threads. Takes 3 days to encode a movie using my specific settings in Handbrake but won't completely bog down the PC.

    If you want to be able to use your MacBook Pro, don't let it use your entire CPU.
     
  5. Mufasa804 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #6
    Wow. Seeing this makes me so happy that I built a hackintosh. A 30GB mkv encode takes under 2 hours for me.
     
  6. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #7
    I'm going to be upgrading my system with a more current CPU which will allow for faster encodes. Just waiting to see if I buy my friends Mac Pro or I build a system from scratch and run Linux. The latter will cost a lot more
     
  7. Cobra611 macrumors regular

    Cobra611

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    #8
    On my older HP, an MKV encode would take about 40 minutes. On my iMac, it takes nearly twice that.
     
  8. xsmett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #9
    Encode for what? If just want to play those files on your ATV there is no need for an encode, all you need to do is to remux those files. This just takes minutes.
     
  9. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #10
    You will be pushing the CPU to its max. In theory everything should be fine.

    I've done it nearly daily for 3 years or so on my iMac with no problems. HUNDREDS of movies, no problem. And I use various settings that greatly increase the duration of the transcode time, like denoise for old movies that have been put on bluray (much better compression to greatly reduce the file size if you minimize the noise).

    It will technically be additional wear on the CPU, PSU and cooling system. Assuming those are up to par its not a problem though.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 24, 2017 ---
    I would imagine storage space constraints. 10 BD movies could end up being 300gb without transcoding.
     
  10. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #11
    If you want to keep a 1:1 ratio then yea, it takes minutes. However for someone like me, I don't have terabytes and terabytes of space so I compress them while keeping as good a picture as possible which takes time since I have it analyze everything 1 frame at a time.
     
  11. xsmett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #12
    As everybody likes. But space isn't expensive anymore, so I personally wouldn't make the effort to encode every movie.
     
  12. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #13
    When you setup a media server with RAID, storage can be expense.
     

Share This Page