Handbrake Goosed By 10.5.6?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by duncyboy, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. duncyboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #1
    Anyone elses Handbrake now unable to rip DVD's after 10.5.6?

    Mine either says 14 hours for a movie rip or gets stuck scanning titles.
     
  2. macbwizard macrumors 6502

    macbwizard

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    #2
    Works fine for me. Make sure you have the newest version of Handbrake and the newest version of VLC.
     
  3. duncyboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #3
    Handbrake was up to date, VLC wasn't- both working fine now. Odd!

    Cheers for the reply :)
     
  4. My1stMAC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #4
    Can you please advise how to fix this issue?
    VLC current at version 0.9.8,
    Handbrake current 0.9.3;

    Just upgrade to 10.5.6; and I can't work Handbrake;
    Tried to app zap handbrake and reinstalled it, but still no go.

    Anyone currently going through this with the recent 10.5.6 update? :confused:
     
  5. duncyboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #5
    I'm not 100% sure that the software update is the problem, but it is a strange coincidence that it was working fine before the Apple Update. One thing of note, I used AppCleaner to remove both Handbrake and VLC before putting fresh versions on.

    Nothing mentioned on the Handbrake.fr forums yet.

    Hope you get it sorted, keep us all posted as their may be more people out there with the same problem :)
     
  6. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #6
    has anyone else had luck with this? I've just tried using handbrake for the first time since 10.5.6 and I can't get it to work. And I'm up to date on both Handbrake and VLC
     
  7. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #7
    Same thing here. I tried using HB last night in place of iSquint for something, and I got all kinds of error messages.
     
  8. macbwizard macrumors 6502

    macbwizard

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    #8
    I've been using Handbrake a lot on 10.5.6... no troubles.
     
  9. jmxp69 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #9
    Make sure VLC is in /Applications

    I can confirm that 10.5.6 and Handbrake 9.3 will rip dvd's as long as VLC is in /Applications
     
  10. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #10
    still not working.

    re-installed both VLC and Handbrake. Both in my apps folder. Both up-to-date.
     
  11. JeffreyLloyd macrumors newbie

    JeffreyLloyd

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    #11
    I'm having the same issues as everyone else. Everything is up to date, but I can't get handbrake to work. It's driving me nuts.
     
  12. bemt17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #12
    no troubles here I have 10.5.6 and have HB and VLC up to date and no issues for me either.
     
  13. JeffreyLloyd macrumors newbie

    JeffreyLloyd

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    #13
    copied from my blog:

    Ever since I updated 10.5.6 on my new iMac, I could not get Handbrake to successfully rip DVDs for me. I have found a solution that will work until Handbrake fixes the issues.

    You can visit oldapps.com’s mac section and download Handbrake’s old 0.6.0 Test 3 version.

    It doesn’t come with all of the bells and whistles of the newer version, but it gets the job done.
     
  14. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #14
    I've found that the FFMPEG codec no longer works (it sits at 0.01% forever), but if you change the file type from MP4 to MP4 (yes, I know they're the same) the the h.264 codec option becomes available, and it starts working.
     

Share This Page