Handbrake issue... ripping commentary version ???

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by EarthDawn, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. EarthDawn macrumors 6502a

    EarthDawn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Long-eye Land, NY
    #1
    I have 1 DVD so far that HB is not ripping correctly... it is copying the version with the directors commentary.

    I have been going the easy route and with my DVD's by just using HB alone in the iPhone setting, changing the kbps to 1500 so they play on the TV better ;)

    But do I need to use MTR to get a non-comentary copy from this 1 movie ? I am just not sure why it is doing this with this 1 movie.....


    thanks
     
  2. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #2
    Choose the other 5.1 audio track in your language.
     
  3. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #3
    By default HB decodes the *longest* (duration) movie file on the DVD, under the assumption that this will be the main feature film. Sometimes, however, the commentary runs a bit longer. You just likely only need to select the second long video track and rip that. Make sense?
     
  4. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #4
    Yep, I learned this as well after encoding the wrong version of Amelie.
     
  5. EarthDawn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EarthDawn

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Long-eye Land, NY
  6. anthonyf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #6
    More HandBrake non-commentary help

    i'm trying to rip 400 blows and am having the same problem.
    i realize that the the title index is step up where you can choose whichever is the longest however there is only one option that has the runtime of the movie... which is number 5.
    In terms of what is says in audio i have two track options:
    Track 1: None, English (AC3) (2.0 ch), or French (AC3) (2.0 ch)
    Track 2: None, English (AC3) (2.0 ch), or French (AC3) (2.0 ch)

    track one is auto set to English AC3 2.0ch
    track two is auto set to none?


    anyone know what to do? or understand what i am saying :) ?
    Thanks!
    //anthony
     
  7. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    Some dvd's use a totally separate title for the directors commentary. So for those you would choose a separate title. And yes, some are actually longer than the main feature (DeJa Vu is like this).

    Other dvd's will use the same title as the main feature, but a different audio track, so you actually watch the main feature but the audio has the director talking. Often the main feature soundtrack will be AC3 5.1 and the directors commentary will be the AC3 2.0 source track in HB.

    If your not sure, the easiest thing to do is simply watch a bit of the main feature with dvdplayer.app or whatever and note which title number and audio track is playing, then choose those combinations to get what you want in HB. Simple.
     
  8. niarobyn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #8
    Amelie

    Earlier in this thread someone posted to say that they had found a way to rip Amelie without the director's cut commentary. I have tried to work out how to do it but can't! Can you please set out how for me? Thanks!
     

Share This Page