Handbrake issues with new Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Chad H, Sep 30, 2008.

  1. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I just purchased a refurb Mac Pro 3.0 Ghz. I installed 8GB of RAM from OWC. Long story short, I installed Handbrake and it keeps crashing on me. I copied "Robot Chicken Star Wars" and have tried to handbrake it about 20 times and it just keeps crashing. Now when "2 pass" isn't checked it takes it about 2 seconds and says its done and the file is only about 4kb. But every time I tell it to 2 passes it crashes. I have tried to re-download it and then downloaded a older version and its still doing it. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    It's the disc.

    It happens very rarely but I have seen Handbrake have issues with certain discs.

    See if it will work by using MacTheRipper first and then Handbraking the resulting file.
     
  3. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #3
    Thats what I am doing is ripping the files that Mac the ripper have copied.
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    Oh right - well try it straight from the disc then.
     
  5. Vanilla Thunder macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #5
    Settings? Xvid is broken in the current Handbrake version.
     
  6. Chad H thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #6
    Just clicking the Apple TV preset. Once I do that it takes about 4 seconds and its done. But the file is only 14kb big or so. If I click 2 pass it crashes.
     
  7. fredr500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #7
    Other discs?

    Have you tried other discs? I have 2 copies of HB installed on my pro, and a USB DVD drive. I have no trouble ripping 2 discs at once most of the time, but do see a disc sometimes that refuses to rip.

    This pegs all 4 processors at 100% but when I come back later I have 2 discs ripped.

    Fred
     

Share This Page