Handbrake, iTunes, and 1080p ripping

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by CylonGlitch, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #1
    Just recently I started ripping and encoding to 1080p. I think that in Handbrake there is none of the defaults for 1080p beside the "Normal or High Profile" settings at the bottom. Is that what I should be using?

    Right now I have SD rips of all my DVD's -- can't see any real reason to rip them higher, that's about the best they can do and they do look good playing back on the ATV2.

    But I just started to rip BluRays. For playback to the ATV2 I use the default ATV2 setting in Handbrake but that gives me 720p at the best. I also rip these down to Apple Universal for the ATV1, iPad and iPhones in the house. Everything seems to work perfectly. But I have heard that people are getting 1080p out of their ATV2; what settings are you using, how should I accomplish this with Handbrake?

    I'm sure I'm not the only one who gets overwhelmed by the options in Handbrake. Can Handbrake save off the presets and then have them imported into another handbrake? If so maybe we could create a Handbrake preset repository . . . I have plenty of space on my server and tons of bandwidth to share if we want to use it.

    Next is the little bigger question. How to get these 1080p files into iTunes. I know I can tag them as HD; but wouldn't that overwrite the 720p version I've been using? I'm thinking that I might want to keep both (is there any good reason why I'd want to do this? ATV2 too limited, leave the 720's for it and then the 1080's only for the laptops?) I don't think iTunes has a 1080p tag yet; am I correct?

    I know that much of this has been discussed in multiple threads here. I'd like to create one definitive thread that contains different settings for Handbrake and thus the idea of creating a downloadable repository for different handbrake settings to help people get up to speed faster.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #2
    You heard wrong .... it can decode 1080p with xbmc but will output only 720p to the display. No point really in feeding it 1080p as it gets downscaled anyway to 720p at most.
     
  3. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #3
    yes hb can export and then import another preset, this is most tested and works between mac and linux. Not sure how good it works in windows ... however you want to be *extremely* careful to use the same rev of hb.

    As far as changing the resolution beyond a preset its old hat. Open Picture settings and set it to whatever you want. Note: the Gui's will not let you go larger than the source (nor should they as there is no remotely decent reason to do so).
     
  4. b-rad g macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    What about if I am using my Mini connected to my HDTV that is 1080p?
     
  5. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #5
    afaik depending on the version of mini it can. Atv 2 can't regardless of hacks, etc. One major hurdle is the 256 mb of ram (same as the atv 1). However the Atv 1 running linux and xbmc with a chd card *can* output 1080p to the display since linux uses less ram than atv osx.
     
  6. b-rad g macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks dynaflash! Have an '10 Mini so it'll do 1080 pretty well. Was about to start doing some blu ray so will be trying some 1080p encoding. Also waiting for atv to be 1080 before I buy.
     

Share This Page