Handbrake & MP4 files

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by i.shaun, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Alright, call me crazy, but I could have sworn Handbrake made .mp4 files.


    It says "MP4" in the settings, however, the output file is ".m4v".


    I tried different presets, I tried my own, and everything outputs ".m4v"





    I resorted to making .Avi, but I figured I should stop and ask you people to see if there is a way to make .mp4.



    Reasons for choosing mp4 over AVI:
    -mp4 plays well with Quicktime
    -I don't notice a difference in size or quality
    -it also works on the Ps3

    AVI Files:
    -are of decent quality and size
    -work on the Ps3
    -are difficult to edit in Quicktime, when I need/want to.


    So, any thoughts? did I do something that makes it choose .m4v over Mp4?
     
  2. Latro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #2
    I'm not sure why you need it in MP4 exactly, but m4v should work just fine:

    "the .m4v file extension to know how to deal with the AC3 in the mp4 container."

    From what I understand.. .m4v is .mp4 but specific to handling DD5.1 and used mostly in iTunes.
     
  3. i.shaun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    .m4v does not function on a PS3, which is currently my media center.


    I have found a setting in preferences that says "use .m4v extention for mp4 files" and it was somehow checked. I unchecked it, and now it outputs Mp4 files like normal.

    I had some trouble getting a working mp4 file on the Ps3 the way I wanted, however AVI works fine. If I ever need to edit an AVI, I can do it, it is just more difficult.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    Usually m4v and mp4 are the same. Just different audio I believe.
     

Share This Page