Handbrake, No Longer Works

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by stockcerts, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I use to love Handbrake, but I can no longer make a copy of any DVD without needing some type of add-on, and when I try to get the add-on, it still doesn't work.

    Is there another app that's also good for making a copy of a DVD? Thanks!
     
  2. Aidoneus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #2
    Handbrake has always required VLC to decrypt a DVD. Make sure that VLC is installed in the default location (Applications/VLC.app) and is fully up to date.

    Aditionally, if you are running the 64-bit version of Handbrake, VLC will also need to be 64-bit.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Handbrake 0.9.3 was the first version to require VLC; earlier versions had a built-in decryption engine.
     
  4. Aidoneus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #4
    I stand corrected.
     
  5. stockcerts thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    I downloaded VLC, and it still doesn't work. I tried both the 32 and 64 versions. I use to love Handbrake, but it's pretty much useless now.
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    If you're actually making copies of DVDs and not just transcoding, I'd grab MacTheRipper.
     
  7. rodman109110 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #7
    What movie are you trying to rip? Some of the new ones have a new protection on them and that could be giving you problems. I suggest trying the nightly builds, maybe that'll have some fix in it that will allow it to work for you.
     
  8. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #8
    Try downloading Handbrake again. I had the same problem recently, and downloaded both to solve it.
     
  9. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #9
    Get makemkv as well as handbrake. I always run my movies through makemkv first and then run the resultant file through handbrake. This is generally a quicker process.

    You can also queue several .MKV files on handbrake and run it overnight.
     

Share This Page